Appendix 2 - Public hearings

Appendix 2Public hearings

Monday, 15 April 2024

Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House


Australian Human Rights Commission

Emeritus Professor RosalindCroucher, President

Ms Emily Rutherford, Senior Lawyer

Human Rights Law Centre

Ms Sanmati Verma, Acting Legal Director

Ms Laura John, Senior Lawyer

Ms Piumetharshika Kaneshan

Law Council of Australia

Mr Greg McIntyre SC, President (via videoconference)

Ms CarinaFord, Chair, Migration Law Committee, Federal Dispute Resolution Section (via videoconference)

MsLeonieCampbell, General Manager

Ms SarahFisher, Member,Migration Law Committee, Federal Dispute Resolution Section (via videoconference)

Dr Abul Rizvi PSM (via teleconference), Private capacity

Mr Peter Hughes PSM, Private capacity

Refugee Council of Australia (via videoconference)

Mr Paul Power, Chief Executive Officer

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Ms Rachel Saravanamuthu, Legal Policy Lead

Mrs Parichehr (Betia) Shakiba, Lawyer

Immigration Advice and Rights Centre (via videoconference)

Mr Joshua Strutt, Chief Executive Officer and Principal Solicitor

Ms Stephanie Lee, Senior Solicitor

Refugee Advice and Casework Service (via videoconference)

Ms Isobel McGarity, Supervising Senior Solicitor

Mr Ahmad Sawan, Supervising Senior Solicitor

Queensland African Communities Council

Mr Benny Bol OAM, President

Kurdish Society of Queensland (via teleconference)

Dr HassanSonboli, President

Zimbabwe Australia Cultural Association

Ms Haatsari Marunda, Member

Australian Iranian Community Alliance (via teleconference)

Mr NaderZoljalali, Board Member

Department of Home Affairs

Ms Stephanie Foster, Secretary

Mr Michael Thomas, Group Manager, Immigration Compliance Group

MsSandra Jeffery, Assistant Commissioner, Immigration Compliance Group

Ms Clare Sharp, Group Manager, Legal

MrKevin Cunnington, Assistant Secretary, Legislation

Ms Tara Cavanagh, Group Manager, Immigration Policy

Operation Sovereign Borders

Rear Admiral Brett Sonter, Royal Australian Navy, Commander Joint Agency Task Force - Operation Sovereign Borders