Appendix 2 - Public Hearings and Witnesses

Appendix 2Public Hearings and Witnesses

Wednesday, 22 February 2023

Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House


Independent Schools Australia

Ms Tracey Taylor, Director, Education Policy

Ms Carolyn Grantskalns, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Smart, Deputy Head (Senior Specialist Care)

Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta

Dr Gregory Elliot, Director Wellbeing

Australian Council of State School Organisations Ltd

Mrs Dianne Giblin, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Veronica Elliott, Executive Officer

Missing School

Ms Megan Gilmour, Cofounder and CEO

Australian Parents Council

Mrs Jennifer Rickard, CEO

Ms Lynne Gaal, Australian Parents Council Representative

Parents for Change

Ms Melissa Gayler, Co-Leader

Ms Mahalah O'Malley, Co-Leader

Carers ACT

Ms Kamla Brisbane, Manager Policy and Advocacy

Ms Catherine Joseph, Mental Health Carers Policy Officer

Black Dog Institute

Professor Jennie Hudson, Deputy Director & Director of Research

Australian Association for the Education of the Gifted and Talented

Mrs Melinda Gindy, President

Mrs Elizabeth Singer, Vice-President

Department of Education

Ms Julie Birmingham, A/g Deputy Secretary, Schools Group

Ms Rachel O'Connor, Assistant Secretary, Student Engagement and Wellbeing Branch

Thursday, 23 February 2023

Mantra Tullamarine Hotel

2 Trade Park Drive



Melbourne Graduate School of Education Disability Research Collaboration

Associate Professor Lisa McKay-Brown, Chair

Dr Matthew Harrison, Senior Lecturer

The Therapy Place

Mrs Fiona Berry, Director

Mrs Stephanie Hodge

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Ms Kira Clarke, Principal Research Fellow - Skills & Training

Dr Jodie Long, Education Research Lead

Yellow Ladybugs

Ms Katie Koullas, Chief Executive Officer

Home Education Network

Mrs Pavlina McMaster, Secretary

Ms Heidi Ryan, Disability Advocate

Mrs Kirsty James, Assistant Coordinator

Ms Kamya Foster, Committee Member

School Refusal Clinic

MrJohn Chellew, Director

School Can't (SPSR) Australia

Ms Tiffany Westphal, Coordinator

Mrs Louise Rogers, Coordinator

Dr Katrina Scurrah, Survey Team Member

Professor Jim Watterston, Private capacity

Associate Professor Glenn Melvin, Private capacity

Thursday, 20 April 2023

Brisbane Airport Conference Centre

2 Dryandra Road

Brisbane Airport

Australian Secondary Principals' Association

Mr Andrew Pierpoint, President

Mr Mark Breckendridge, Vice-President

Mrs Robyn Thorpe, President of Northern Territory Principal's Association (via teleconference)

Queensland Pathways State College

Mrs Kristie de Brenni, Principal

Queensland Independent Schools Parents Network

Ms Amanda Watt, Executive Officer

Ms Lisa Coles, Parent and Independent School Principal

Queensland Department of Health

Dr Stephen Stathis, Mental Health, Alcohol and Other Drugs Branch, Clinical Excellence Queensland

Adjunct Professor Frank Tracey, Health Service Chief Executive, Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service