Appendix 2 - Public Hearing

Appendix 2Public Hearing

Tuesday, 25 July 2023

2S1, Committee Room

Parliament House


Blockchain Australia (Submission 1)

Mr Simon Callaghan, Chief Executive Officer (Via videoconference)

Mr Gordon Little, Policy Lead (Via videoconference)

Coinbase (No submission)

Mr Faryar Shirzad, Chief Policy Officer (Via videoconference)

Law Council of Australia (Submission 9)

Ms Pip Bell, Chair, Financial Services Committee, Business Law Section (Via videoconference)

Ms Susannah Wilkinson, Chair, Digital Commerce Committee, Business Law Section (Via videoconference)

Digital Law Association (Submission 16)

Ms Angelina Gomez, Chair and Director (Via videoconference)

Creo Legal (Submission 5)

Mr David Chung, Director (Via videoconference)

Hamilton Locke (Submission 17)

Ms Jamie Lumsden, Partner (Via videoconference)

Australian Custodial Services Association (Submission 22)

Mr David Travers, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Sinclair Scholfield, ACSA Board members and Sponsor ACSA Digital Asset Working Group

RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub Researchers (Submission 4)

Associate Professor Chris Berg (Via videoconference)

Dr Elizabeth Morton (Via videoconference)

Swyftx (No submission)

Mr Adam Percy, General Counsel (Via videoconference)

Revolut Australia (Submission 12)

Mr Matt Baxby, CEO Australia and NZ (Via videoconference)

Scott Jamieson, Chief Compliance Officer Australia and NZ (Via videoconference)

BTC Markets (Submission 20)

Ms Caroline Bowler, Chief Executive Officer (Via videoconference)

Kraken Exchange Australia (Submission 13)

Mr Jonathon Miller, Managing Director (Via videoconference)

Piper Alderman (Submission 10)

Mr Michael Bacina, Partner (Via videoconference)

Clyde & Co (Submission 18)

Mr Liam Hennessy, Partner (Via videoconference)

Blockchain & Digital Assets - Services + Law (BADAS*L) (Submission 21)

Ms Joni Pirovich, Principal (Via videoconference)

Department of the Treasury (No submission)

Ms Nghi Luu, Assistant Secretary, Capital Markets, Payments and Financial Innovation Branch

Mr David Menz, A/g Director, Capital Markets, Payments and Financial Innovation Branch

Mr Chris Adamek, Assistant Director, Capital Markets, Payments and Financial Innovation Branch

Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (Submission 6)

Mr Daniel Mossop, National Manager, Reform Policy and Mutual Evaluation

Australian Securities and Investments Commission (No submission)

Ms Molly Choucair, Senior Executive Leader, Markets Enforcement (Via videoconference)

Mr Adam Coleman, Senior Manager, Regulatory Reform (Via videoconference)

Reserve Bank of Australia (Submission 8)

Mr Ellis Connolly, Head, Payments Policy Department (Via videoconference)

Mr Chris Thompson, Deputy Head, Payments Policy (Via videoconference)