B. List of public hearings and witnesses

Wednesday, 27 June 2018 – Canberra, ACT
Department of Home Affairs
Ms Peta Dunn, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration Integrity and Community Protection Division
Dr Richard Johnson, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration, Citizenship and Multiculturalism Policy Division
Ms Justine Jones, Assistant Secretary, Character Assessment and Cancellations Branch
Mr Brett Schuppan, Acting Assistant Secretary, Community Cohesion and Multicultural Policy Branch
Monday, 16 July 2018 – Sydney, NSW
Administrative Appeals Tribunal
Ms Sian Leathem, Registrar
Mr Chris Matthies, Executive Director, Strategy and Policy
Legal Aid NSW
Mr Alexander Grosart, Senior Solicitor, Civil Law Division, Government Law Group
Kingsford Legal Centre
Ms Dianne Anagnos, Solicitor
Ms Theresa Deegan, Solicitor
NSW Council for Civil Liberties
Dr Martin Bibby, Convenor, Asylum Seekers Working Party
Mr Stephen Blanks, President
Private capacity
Dr Elyse Methven and Dr Anthea Vogl
Mr Jason Donnelly
Tuesday, 17 July 2018 – Sydney, NSW
Australian Human Rights Commission
Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher, President
Mr Graeme Edgerton, Deputy General Counsel
Ms Lucy Morgan, Specialist Adviser, Immigration
Mr Edward Stantow, Human Rights Commissioner
Immigration Advice & Rights Centre
Mr Ali Mojtahedi, Principal Solicitor
Private capacity
Professor Mary Crock, Ms Bianca Brunozzi and Mr Aidan Hammerschmid
Dr Louise Boon-Kuo
Mr Michael Chalmers
Monday, 23 July 2018 – Melbourne, VIC
Refugee Council of Australia
Dr Joyce Chia, Director of Policy
Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network Australia
Mrs Derya Koksal, Policy and Advocacy Officer
Ms Nadine Liddy, National Coordinator
Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
Dr Carolyn Graydon, Principal Solicitor and Manager of the Human Rights Law Program
Tuesday, 24 July 2018 – Melbourne, VIC
Victorian Multicultural Commission
Ms Elizabeth Blades-Hamilton, Senior Research and Policy Officer
Mr Tony O’Hea, Manager, Research and Policy
Oz Kiwi
Ms Joanne Cox, Deputy Chairperson
Law Council of Australia
Ms Carina Ford, Deputy Chair, Migration Law Committee
Mr Nathan MacDonald, Senior Policy Lawyer
Mr David Prince, Chair, Migration Law Committee
Visa Cancellations Working Group
Ms Hannah Dickinson, Chair, Visa Cancellations Working Group
Mr Dushan Nikolic, Member, Visa Cancellations Working Group
Refugee Legal
Mr Gregory Hanson, Senior Lawyer and Policy Officer
Mr David Manne, Executive Director and Principal Solicitor
Victoria Legal Aid
Ms Sarah Fisher, Program Manager, Migration, Civil Justice Program
Ms Hollie Kerwin, Senior Policy and Projects Officer, Civil Justice Program
Springvale Monash Legal Service
Ms Ashleigh Newnham, Manager, Strategy and Community Development
Private capacity
Mr Gavin Aylward, Ms Katelyn Aylward, and Ms Maria Kathryn Aylward
Office of the Victims of Crime Commissioner, Victoria
Mr Greg Davies, APM, Victims of Crime Commissioner
Wednesday, 15 August 2018 – Canberra, ACT
Police Federation of Australia
Mr Mark Burgess, Chief Executive Officer
Wednesday, 12 September 2018 – Canberra, ACT
New Zealand High Commission
His Excellency Mr Chris Seed, High Commissioner
Mr Andrew White, First Secretary
Wednesday, 17 October 2018 – Canberra, ACT
Attorney-General's Department
Mr Imran Church, Principal Legal Officer
Mr Cameron Gifford, First Assistant Secretary
Wednesday, 5 December 2018 – Canberra, ACT
Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia
Mr Mohammad Al-Khafaji, Acting Chief Executive Officer
Ms Mary Patetsos, Chairperson

 |  Contents  |