B. Public hearings

B. Public hearings

Wednesday, 28 September 2022

Committee Room 1R2

Parliament House


Australian Electoral Commission

Monday, 17 October 2022

Committee Room 2S1

Parliament House


Professor Luke Beck, Private capacity

Professor Colleen Lewis, Honorary Professor, Australian Studies Institute, Australian National University

Professor Joo-Cheong Tham, Private capacity

Professor George Williams, Private capacity

Dr Belinda Edwards, Private capacity

Human Rights Law Centre

  • Ms Alice Drury, Acting Legal Director

AccountabilityRound Table

  • Professor Spencer Zifcak, Chair
  • Adjunct Professor the Hon. Dr Ken Coghill, Director
  • Professor Charles Sampford, Director

Centre for Public Integrity

  • Mr Anthony Whealy KC, Chair
  • Mr Max Douglass, Research Officer

Democratic Audit of Australia

  • Emeritus Professor Marian Sawer, Member
  • Mr Michael Maley, Member
  • Professor Graeme Orr, Member

Remedy Australia

  • Ms Fiona Given

Tuesday, 18 October 2022

Committee Room 2R1

Parliament House


Digital Industry Group Inc. (DIGI)

  • Ms Sunita Bose, Managing Director
  • Dr Jennifer Duxbury, Director Policy, Regulatory Affairs and Research

Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)

  • Ms Creina Chapman, Deputy Chair and CEO
  • Mr Jeremy Fenton, Executive Manager
  • Ms Rochelle Zurnamer, Executive Manager

News and Media Research Centre, University of Canberra

  • Dr Kerry McCallum
  • Dr Caroline Fisher

Free TV

  • Ms Bridget Fair, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Natasha Eves, Regulatory Affairs Manager

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)

  • Mr Scott Gregson, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr Rami Greiss, Executive General Manager, Consumer and Fair Trading Division

Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)

  • Mr Craig McMurtrie, Editorial Director

Reset Australia

  • Mr Chris Cooper, Executive Director

Wednesday, 26 October 2022

Committee Room 1R2

Parliament House


The Australia Institute

  • Mr Bill Browne, Director, Democracy and Accountability Program

Thursday, 3 November 2022

Committee Room 2R1

Parliament House


Australian Electoral Commission [including Electoral Integrity Assurance Taskforce]

Australian Labor Party

  • Mr Paul Erickson, National Secretary

Australian Greens

  • Mr Jonathan Parry, National Secretary

NSW Nationals

  • Mr Joe Lundy, State Director

Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service

  • Nerita Waight, Chief Executive Officer

Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research, Australian National University

  • Dr Morgan Harrington, Research Fellow

Dr Francis Markham, Private capacity

Climate 200

  • Mr Byron Fay, Executive Director
  • Mr Simon Holmes à Court, Convenor

Associate Professor Vanessa Teague, Private capacity

Wednesday, 23 November 2022

Committee Room 1R1

Parliament House


Northern Land Council

  • Ms Diane Brodie, Policy Team Leader
  • Mr Robert Gosford, Manager Media and Communications

Aboriginal Peak Organisation of the Northern Territory

  • Ms Theresa Roe, Secretariat Coordinator
  • Ms Seranie Gamble, Manager

Central Desert Regional Council

  • Mr Leslie Manda, CEO
  • Ms Theresa Roe, Secretariat Co-ordinator

Mr Matthew Ryan, Private capacity

Mr Ron Levy, Barrister, Selby Street Chambers

Northern Territory Electoral Commission

  • Mr Iain Loganathan, Northern Territory Electoral Commissioner
  • Hon Chansey Paech, Attorney-General and Minister for Justice

Northern Territory Government

  • Hon Selena Uibo, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Wednesday, 30 November 2022

Committee Room 1R1

Parliament House


Electoral Commission South Australia

Wednesday, 8 March 2023

Committee Room 1R1

Parliament House


Australian Electoral Commission

Thursday, 27 April 2023

Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House


Inclusion Australia

  • Ms Brooke Canham, Policy Officer
  • Ms Maeve Kennedy, Senior Manager, Policy and Projects

Blind Citizens Australia

  • Ms Sally Aurisch, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr Jackson Reynolds-Ryan, Manager, Policy and Advocacy

Vision Australia

  • Mr Bruce Maguire, Lead Policy Adviser

Australian Federation of Disability Organisations

  • Mr Ross Joyce, Chief Executive Officer

Council on the Ageing

  • Mr Corey, Irlam, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Professor Catherine Renshaw, Private capacity

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 2374