B. Public hearings

B. Public hearings

Wednesday, 23 November 2022


Department of Social Services

  • Liz Hefren-Webb, Deputy Secretary, Families and Communities
  • Patrick Burford, Group Manager, Communities
  • Chris D’Souza, Branch Manager, Financial Wellbeing

Wednesday, 30 November 2022


Australian Communications and Media Authority

  • Cathy Rainsford, General Manager
  • Rochelle Zurnamer, Executive Manager, Content Safeguards
  • Jeanette Knowler, Manager, Interactive Gambling Team

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts

  • Pauline Sullivan, First Assistant Secretary
  • Adam Carlon, Assistant Secretary
  • Margaret Lopez, Assistant Secretary
  • Andrew Verdon, Director

Monday, 5 December 2022


Alliance For Gambling Reform

  • Reverend Tim Costello, Chief Advocate
  • Ms Carol Bennett, Chief Executive Officer

Voices of Gambling Reform

  • Ms Anna Bardsley, Voices for Gambling Reform Coordinator
  • John
  • Ken Wolfe

Tuesday, 7 February 2023


Children and Media Australia

  • Professor Elizabeth Handsley, President
  • Ms Barbara Biggins, Hon Chief Executive Officer
  • Dr Debra Dickinson, Review Coordinator

Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA)

  • Dr Chris Duncan, Chief Executive Officer

Friday, 10 February 2023


Mr Aaron Smith

Mr Mark Kempster

Suicide Prevention Australia

  • Mr Matthew McLean, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
  • Mx Caitlin Bambridge, Senior Policy Advisor

Australian Health Promotion Association

  • Mrs Melissa Edmunds, Vice President
  • Ms Louise Francis, Member

Free TV Australia

  • Ms Bridget Fair, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Natasha Eves, Regulatory Affairs Manager


  • Ms Claire O’Neil, Director, Corporate Affairs
  • Mr Michael Coonan, Head of Government Relations and Regulatory Affairs

Professor Samantha Thomas, Dr Hannah Pitt and Dr Simone McCarthy

Ad Standards

  • Mr Richard Bean, Executive Director

Australian Association of National Advertisers (AANA)

  • Mr Joshua Faulks, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Megan McEwin, Director of Policy

Emeritus Professor Mike Daube

Tuesday, 14 February 2023


Mr Jeremy Ryan

Victorian Arabic Social Services

  • Mr Kieran Hough, Senior Social Worker and Win Back Your Life Program Coordinator

Tuesday, 28 February 2023


Relationships Australia

  • Mr Nick Tebbey, National Executive Officer
  • Dr Susan Cochrane, National Policy Manager

Queensland University of Technology

  • Professor Ross Gordon, School of Advertising, Marketing and Public Relations, QUT Business School

STRS Consultants

  • Dr Matt Stevens, Managing Director

Associate Professor Charles Livingstone

Commercial Radio and Audio

  • Ms Sarah Kruger, Head of Policy and Legal Affairs

Australian Capital Territory Government

  • Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA, Attorney General and Minister of Gaming
  • Ms Yu-Lan Chan, Chief Executive Officer, ACT Gambling and Racing Commission
  • Mr Daniel Ng, A/g Executive Group Manager, Legislation, Policy and Programs
  • Mr Joshua Ceramidas, Senior Director, Liquor, Racing and Gaming Policy

Northern Territory Racing Commission

  • Mr Alastair Shields, Chairperson

Department of Justice and Attorney-General, Queensland Government

  • Ms Victoria Thomson, Deputy Director-General, Liquor, Gaming and Fair Trading

Government of South Australia

  • Mr Dini Soulio, Liquor and Gambling Commissioner

Wednesday, 1 March 2023


Consumer Policy Research Centre

  • Ms Erin Turner, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Chandni Gupta, Digital Policy Director

The Australia Institute

  • Mr Bill Browne, Director, Democracy and Accountability Program

Dr Aaron Drummond, Ms Lauren Hall and Dr Emily Lowe-Calverley

Mr Leon Y. Xiao

International Social Games Association

  • Mr Michael Luc Delany, Chief Executive Officer

Interactive Games & Entertainment Association

  • Mr Ron Curry, Chief Executive Officer
  • Mr Ben Au, Director, Policy and Government Affairs

Gambling Treatment and Research Clinic, University of Sydney

  • Dr Sally Gainsbury, Director
  • Dr Christopher Hunt, Senior Clinical Supervisor

Turning Point and the Monash Addiction Research Centre

  • Professor Dan Lubman, Executive Clinical Director (Turning Point) and Director (Monash Addiction Research Centre)

Care Incorporated

  • Mrs Wendy Sandeman, Financial Counsellor

Banyule Community Health

  • Mr Michael Geary, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Missy Ali, Gambler’s Help Senior Health Promotion Officer
  • Ms Trina Fazio, Gambler’s Help Therapeutic Counsellor
  • Mr Daniel Irwin, Peer Connection Peer Support Volunteer

Tuesday, 7 March 2023


Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)

  • A/Prof Shalini Arunogiri, Chair, Faculty of Addiction Psychiatry, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

  • Professor John Saunders, Representative of The Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) and President-elect of the RACP’s Australasian Chapter of Addiction Medicine

Australian Medical Association

  • Dr Stephen Robson, President

Australian Psychological Society

  • Dr Zena Burgess, Chief Executive Officer
  • Dr Catriona Davis-McCabe, President

Tuesday, 21 March 2023


Mr Gavin Fineff

Tuesday, 28 March 2023


Financial Counselling Australia

  • Ms Lauren Levin, Director of Policy and Campaigns

Federation University

  • Dr Angela Rintoul, Senior Research Fellow

Central Queensland University

  • Professor Matthew Rockloff, Head, Experimental Gambling Research Laboratory
  • Professor Matthew Browne
  • Professor Nerilee Hing, Research Professor, Gambling Studies, Experimental Gambling Research Laboratory

Tuesday, 4 April 2023


Australian Banking Association

  • Ms Anna Bligh, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Amanda Pullinger, Head of Customer Policy


  • Mr Adam Rytenskild, Chief Executive Officer


  • Mr Steven Lang, Regulatory Strategy and Safer Gambling

Australian Football League

  • Mr Gillon McLachlan, Chief Executive Officer

National Rugby League

  • Mr Andrew Abdo, Chief Executive Officer


  • Mr Barni Evans, Chief Executive Officer
  • Ms Tania Abbotto, Chief Customer, Sustainability and People Officer

Responsible Wagering Australia

  • Mr Nick Minchin, Chairman
  • Mr Stuart McKay, Manager, Policy and Research

Australian Lottery and Newsagents Association

  • Mr Ben Kearney, Chief Executive Officer

The Lottery Corporation

  • Mrs Susan Van der Merwe, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Department of Social Services

  • Ms Emma Mc Guirk, Acting Deputy Secretary, Families and Communities
  • Mr Chris D'Souza, Branch Manager, Financial Wellbeing
  • Mr Patrick Burford, Group Manager, Communities

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts

  • Mr Richard Windeyer, Deputy Secretary, Communications and Media Group
  • Ms Pauline Sullivan, First Assistant Secretary, Online Safety, Media and Platforms Division
  • Mr Adam Carlon, Assistant Secretary, Media Industry and Sustainability Branch
  • Ms Maria Vassiliadis, Assistant Secretary, Classification Branch
  • Mr Andrew Verdon, Director, Broadcasting and Gambling Regulation Section

Australian Communications and Media Authority

  • Ms Cathy Rainsford, General Manager, Content & Consumer
  • Ms Rochelle Zurnamer, Executive Manager, Content Safeguards
  • Mr Matthew Anderson, Manager, National Self-Exclusion Register Section
  • Ms Jeanette Knowler, Manager, Content Safeguards

Wednesday, 5 April 2023


Australian Gambling Research Centre, Australian Institute of Family Studies

  • Dr Rebecca Jenkinson, Executive Manager
  • Dr Rae Kaspiew, Research Director, Systems & Services