B. Hearings and witnesses

B. Hearings and witnesses

Wednesday, 12 October 2022 – Canberra

Royal Melbourne Hospital (by videoconference)

  • Associate Professor Louis Irving, Respiratory Physician, Post-Covid Clinic
  • Ms Carly McConnell, ReCOV Team Leader

Royal Children's Hospital (Melbourne) (by videoconference)

  • Associate Professor Shidan Tosif, Consultant, General Medicine, and Clinical Lead Post-COVID Clinic

Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity (by videoconference)

  • Dr Irani Thevarajan, Infectious Diseases Physician, Victorian Infectious Diseases Service

Burnet Institute (by videoconference)

  • Professor Margaret Hellard, Deputy Director, Programs

Deakin University (by videoconference)

  • Professor Catherine Bennett, Chair in Epidemiology
  • Dr Danielle Hitch, Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy

Kirby Institute (by videoconference)

  • Professor Greg Dore, Professor and Epidemiologist
  • Dr Anthony Kelleher, Director

Monday, 5 December 2022 – Liverpool

Nepean Hospital

  • Dr Benjamin Gerhardy, Respiratory Physician, Nepean and Blue Mountains Local Health District
  • Dr Archana Sud, Infectious Diseases Physician and Clinical Director Medicine, Nepean and Blue Mountains Local Health District

Westmead Hospital

  • Dr Golo Ahlenstiel, Clinical Network Director, Specialty Medicine, Western Sydney Local Health District
  • Dr Brett Gardiner, Clinical Network Director, Subacute and Ambulatory Medicine, Western Sydney Local Health District

Sydney Children's Hospital Network (by teleconference)

  • Associate Professor Philip Britton, Staff Specialist
  • Dr Brendan McMullan, Paediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist

Liverpool Hospital

  • Dr Zinta Harrington, Head, Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine

Campbelltown Hospital (by teleconference)

  • Dr Tuan-Anh Nguyen, Head of Department, Senior Staff Specialist, Rehabilitation Medicine

Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research

  • Professor Les Bokey, Director of Research, South Western Sydney Local Health District; and Director, Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research

Macarthur General Practice (by teleconference)

  • Dr Kenneth McCroary, Director

Tharawal Aboriginal Corporation (by teleconference)

  • Ms Melinda Bell, Executive Assistant

Friday, 17 February 2023 – Canberra

National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation

  • Dr Jason Agostino, Senior Medical Advisor

Department of Health and Aged Care

  • Professor Brendan Murphy AC, Secretary
  • Professor Paul Kelly, Australian Government Chief Medical Officer
  • Professor Michael Kidd AM, Deputy Chief Medical Officer
  • Dr Ruth Vine, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Mental Health
  • Dr Lucas de Toca, First Assistant Secretary, National COVID-19 Vaccine Program

Mr Bruce Sedgwick and Ms Sophie Sedgwick, private capacity

Associate Professor Nada Hamad, private capacity (by videoconference)

Australia Long Covid Community Facebook Group

  • Mr Robin Austin, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Ms Karren Hill, private capacity
  • Dr Su Mon Kyaw-Myint, private capacity

Session on lived experience of myalgic encephalomyelitis/chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS) (by videoconference):

  • Ms Michelle O'Brien, private capacity
  • Ms Christina Stenseth, private capacity
  • Ms Cindy Wu, private capacity
  • Ms Penelope McMillan, Spokesperson, ME/CFS Australia

Roundtable of experts jointly convened by the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences:

  • Professor Craig Anderson, George Institute for Global Health (by videoconference)
  • Professor Andrew Baillie, Professor of Allied Health, University of Sydney
  • Associate Professor Philip Britton, private capacity
  • Dr Allen Cheng, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Professor Brendan Crabb, Chief Executive Officer and Director, Burnet Institute
  • Ms Kristy Crooks, PhD Scholar, APRISE (by videoconference)
  • Professor Maria Crotty, Professor of Rehabilitation, Aged and Extended Care, Flinders University
  • Professor Margaret Hellard, Deputy Director, Burnet Institute
  • Professor Martin Hensher, private capacity
  • Professor Anne Holland, Head of Post COVID Service and Head of Respiratory Research, Alfred Health; and Professor of Physiotherapy, Monash University
  • Associate Professor Alex Holmes, Fellow, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists; Royal Melbourne Hospital; and University of Melbourne
  • Associate Professor Louis Irving, private capacity
  • Professor Chennupati Jagadish, President, Australian Academy of Science
  • Dr Jen Kok, Medical Virologist, Australian Society of Microbiology; Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research; and NSW Health Pathology
  • Professor Dennis Lau, private capacity
  • Professor Julie Leask, private capacity
  • Dr Sharon Lewin, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Professor Andrew Lloyd, private capacity
  • Dr Sarah Lynar, Infectious Diseases Physician, Royal Darwin Hospital; and Department of Health, Northern Territory (by videoconference)
  • Dr Kristine Macartney, Fellow, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (by videoconference)
  • Dr Gail Matthews, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Ms Penelope McMillan, Spokesperson, ME/CFS Australia (by videoconference)
  • Professor Jodie McVernon, Director, Doherty Epidemiology, The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity; Professor, University of Melbourne; and Royal Melbourne Hospital
  • Professor Adrian Miller, Deputy Vice-President, Indigenous Engagement, Central Queensland University (by videoconference)
  • Professor Jeremy Nicholson, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Health Sciences, Murdoch University; and Director, Australian National Phenome Centre
  • Ms Michelle O’Brien, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Distinguished Professor Ingrid Piller, Centre for Workforce Futures, Macquarie University (by videoconference)
  • Professor Lena Sanci, Department of General Practice and Primary Care, Melbourne Medical School, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Kirsty Short, University of Queensland
  • Professor Tania Sorrell, Fellow, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences; and Ambassador, Sydney Institute for Infectious Diseases
  • Ms Christina Stenseth, private capacity (by videoconference)
  • Professor Steve Wesselingh, President, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences
  • Ms Cindy Wu, private capacity (by videoconference)

Monday, 20 February 2023 – Malvern

Burnet Institute

  • Professor Brendan Crabb AC, Director and Chief Executive

Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA) (by videoconference)

  • Professor Catherine Bennett, Alfred Deakin Professor and Chair in Epidemiology, Deakin University; and Expert Epidemiologist, PHAA
  • Professor Caroline Miller, Vice-President, Policy, PHAA

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)

  • Professor Mark Morgan, Chair of the RACGP Expert Committee for Quality Care and Co-chair of the National Clinical Evidence Taskforce Primary and Chronic Care Panel

Associate Professor Robyn Schofield, Associate Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry, University of Melbourne

Professor Geoffrey Hanmer, Director, OzSAGE

Distinguished Professor Lidia Morawska, School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Queensland University of Technology (by videoconference)

Professor Jeremy Nicholson, Director, Australian National Phenome Centre; and Pro Vice-Chancellor Health Sciences, Murdoch University

Covid Safe Schools Inc (by videoconference)

  • Ms Karen Armstrong, Acting President
  • Mr Peter Vogel, Legal Advisor

Australian Education Union Federal Office (by videoconference)

  • Mr Kevin Bates, Federal Secretary

Committee Secretariat contact:

PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 4145