Gender composition of Australian parliaments by party: a quick guide

Updated 1 May 2023

PDF version [218KB]
Excel version of tables [51KB]

Kate Laing and Anna Hough
Politics and Public Administration

This Quick Guide provides an update to tables showing the composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender (see Tables 1 and 2 below) since the last version was published on 23 January 2023.



Senator Jim Molan (LIB, NSW) died in office on 16 January 2023. The casual vacancy has not yet been filled.

Senator Lidia Thorpe (Vic.) announced on 6 February 2023 that she was leaving the Australian Greens to sit as an independent.

House of Representatives

A by-election in the electorate of Aston (Vic.) resulting from the resignation of Alan Tudge (LIB) was held on Saturday 1 April 2023, and was won by Mary Doyle (ALP).

New South Wales

Following the general election held on 25 March 2023, women now comprise:

40.9% of the Legislative Assembly

45.2% of the Legislative Council

42.5% of the NSW parliament as a whole

For the first time in NSW the Ministry has gender parity with 11 of 22 positions filled by women.


Legislative Council

On 27 March 2023 Moira Deeming (Western Metropolitan) was suspended from the Liberal party room for nine months and now sits as an Independent Liberal.

Legislative Assembly

A supplementary election in the Narracan District following the death of a candidate during the election campaign period was held on 28 January 2023, which was won by Wayne Farnham (LIB).

Western Australia

Legislative Council

Alannah MacTiernan (ALP, South West Region) resigned from parliament on 10 February 2023. She was replaced by Ben Dawkins on 20 March 2023, who now sits as an independent after being expelled by the ALP.

South Australia

Legislative Council

Stephen Wade (LIB) resigned from parliament on 27 January 2023 and was replaced by Ben Hood (LIB).

Northern Territory

A by-election for the seat of Arafura on 18 March 2023 following the death of Lawrence Costa (ALP) was won by Manuel Brown (ALP).


For copyright reasons some linked items are only available to members of Parliament.

© Commonwealth of Australia

Creative commons logo

Creative Commons

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, and to the extent that copyright subsists in a third party, this publication, its logo and front page design are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia licence.

In essence, you are free to copy and communicate this work in its current form for all non-commercial purposes, as long as you attribute the work to the author and abide by the other licence terms. The work cannot be adapted or modified in any way. Content from this publication should be attributed in the following way: Author(s), Title of publication, Series Name and No, Publisher, Date.

To the extent that copyright subsists in third party quotes it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.

Inquiries regarding the licence and any use of the publication are welcome to

This work has been prepared to support the work of the Australian Parliament using information available at the time of production. The views expressed do not reflect an official position of the Parliamentary Library, nor do they constitute professional legal opinion.

Any concerns or complaints should be directed to the Parliamentary Librarian. Parliamentary Library staff are available to discuss the contents of publications with Senators and Members and their staff. To access this service, clients may contact the author or the Library‘s Central Entry Point for referral.