Gender composition of Australian parliaments by party: a quick guide

Updated 8 March 2022

PDF version [469KB]
Excel version of tables [50KB]

Anna Hough and Lisa Richards
Politics & Public Administration Section

This Quick Guide provides an update to tables showing the composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender (see Tables 1 and 2) since the last version was published on 19 November 2021.



House of Representatives

Nick Champion (ALP, Spence, SA) resigned from parliament on 22 February 2022 to stand as a candidate for Taylor at the South Australian state election on 19 March 2022. The Speaker announced on 4 March 2022 that the resulting vacancy would not be filled before the upcoming general election.


Senator Greg Mirabella (LIB, Vic.) was selected to fill the casual vacancy resulting from Scott Ryan’s (LIB, Vic.) resignation from the Senate on 13 October 2021. Senator Mirabella was sworn-in on 8 February 2022.

New South Wales

Legislative Assembly

After over 18 years of service each, Andrew Constance (LIB, Bega) and Gladys Berejiklian (LIB, Willoughby) resigned from the NSW Legislative Assembly on 30 December 2021.

On 31 December 2021, John Barilaro (NATS, Monaro) and Jodi McKay (ALP, Strathfield) resigned from the NSW Legislative Assembly.

In the four subsequent by-elections held on 12 February 2022, Michael Holland (ALP, Bega), Nichole Overall (NATS, Monaro), Jason Yat-Sen Li (ALP, Strathfield), and Tim James (LIB, Willoughby) were elected.

On 3 March 2022 it was Helen Dalton (SFF, Murray) had resigned from the Shooters, Fishers and Farmers party to sit as an independent.

Legislative Council

On 24 February 2022, Scott Barrett (NATS) was selected to fill the casual vacancy caused by Trevor Khan’s (NATS) 6 January 2022 resignation.


Legislative Council

On 2 December 2021 Cathrine Burnett-Wake (LIB, Eastern Victoria) was selected to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Edward O’Donohue (LIB) on 1 December 2021.


House of Assembly

Following the resignation of Sarah Courtney (LIB, Bass) on 10 February 2022, a recount was held on 25 February 2022 and the vacancy was filled by Lara Alexander (LIB).

Legislative Council

The vacancy created by the resignation of Bastian Seidel (ALP, Huon) on 7 January 2022 will be filled at a by-election which is likely to be held on 7 May 2022.


For copyright reasons some linked items are only available to members of Parliament.

© Commonwealth of Australia

Creative commons logo

Creative Commons

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, and to the extent that copyright subsists in a third party, this publication, its logo and front page design are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia licence.

In essence, you are free to copy and communicate this work in its current form for all non-commercial purposes, as long as you attribute the work to the author and abide by the other licence terms. The work cannot be adapted or modified in any way. Content from this publication should be attributed in the following way: Author(s), Title of publication, Series Name and No, Publisher, Date.

To the extent that copyright subsists in third party quotes it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.

Inquiries regarding the licence and any use of the publication are welcome to

This work has been prepared to support the work of the Australian Parliament using information available at the time of production. The views expressed do not reflect an official position of the Parliamentary Library, nor do they constitute professional legal opinion.

Any concerns or complaints should be directed to the Parliamentary Librarian. Parliamentary Library staff are available to discuss the contents of publications with Senators and Members and their staff. To access this service, clients may contact the author or the Library‘s Central Entry Point for referral.