Section 6: Public holidays and closedown days

33.          Public holidays

33.1        Employees will observe the following public holidays in the Australian Capital Territory:

  1. New Year’s Day (or substitute);
  2. Australia Day (or substitute);
  3. Good Friday and Easter Monday;
  4. Anzac Day (or substitute);
  5. the Queen’s Birthday observance day (or substitute);
  6. Labour Day or equivalent;
  7. Christmas Day (or substitute);
  8. Boxing Day (or substitute); and
  9. any other day, or part-day, declared or prescribed by or under a law of the Australian Capital Territory to be observed generally within the Australian Capital Territory, or a region of the Australian Capital Territory, as a public holiday, other than a day or part-day, or a kind of day or part-day, that is excluded by the Fair Work Regulations 2009 from counting as a public holiday.

33.2        Where the Clerk and an employee agree, another day may be substituted for any public holiday prescribed above.

33.3        Where a public holiday falls during a period when an employee is absent on leave (other than annual or paid personal/carer’s leave) there is no entitlement to receive payment as a public holiday. Payment for that day will be in accordance with the entitlement for that form of leave (e.g. if the employee is on long service leave at half pay, payment will be at half pay).

34.          Closedown days

34.1        The department will close down on the three work days between the Boxing Day and New Year’s Day public holidays each year. Employees that would otherwise be required to work on those days will be granted discretionary leave with pay for those closedown days.

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents | Next Page