Composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender: a quick guide

Updated 10 October 2018

PDF version [242KB]

Anna Hough
Politics and Public Administration Section

This quick guide contains the most recent tables showing the composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender (see Table 1 and Table 2). It takes into account changes to the Commonwealth, New South Wales, Victorian and Western Australian parliaments since the last update was published on 18 May 2018.


In the Senate:

  • Following the High Court ruling of 9 May 2018 that the election of Katy Gallagher (ALP, ACT) was void under section 44 of the Constitution, David Smith (ALP, ACT) was elected (by count-back) to fill the seat on 23 May 2018.
  • Following the resignation of Lee Rhiannon (AG, NSW) on 15 August 2018, the resulting casual vacancy was filled by Mehreen Faruqi (AG, NSW) on 20 August 2018.
  • Following the resignation of Andrew Bartlett (AG, Qld) on 27 August 2018, Larissa Waters (AG, Qld) returned to the Senate to fill the resulting casual vacancy on 10 September 2018.
  • Steve Martin (IND, Tas.) announced on 25 May 2018 that he had joined the Nationals.
  • Fraser Anning (IND, Qld) announced on 4 June 2018 that he had joined Katter’s Australian Party.
  • Brian Burston (IND, NSW) announced on 18 June 2018 that he had joined the United Australia Party.

In the House of Representatives:

  • Five Members—Tim Hammond (ALP, Perth, WA), Justine Keay (ALP, Braddon, Tas.), Susan Lamb (ALP, Longman, Qld), Rebekha Sharkie (CA, Mayo, SA) and Josh Wilson (ALP, Fremantle, WA)—resigned in May. Four of those resignations (the exception being Tim Hammond) were due to questions about eligibility to sit in parliament under section 44 of the Australian Constitution in the wake of the 9 May 2018 High Court ruling. Following by-elections in the five seats on 28 July 2018:
    • Patrick Gorman (ALP) replaced Tim Hammond (ALP) in Perth (WA);
    • Justine Keay (ALP) was re-elected in Braddon (Tas.);
    • Susan Lamb (ALP) was re-elected in Longman (Qld);
    • Rebekha Sharkie (CA) was re-elected in Mayo (SA); and
    • Josh Wilson (ALP) was re-elected in Fremantle (WA).
  • The figures include a vacancy in the seat of Wentworth (NSW) following the resignation of former Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull (LIB) on 31 August 2018. A by-election will be held in Wentworth on 20 October 2018.

New South Wales

In the Legislative Assembly:

  • Following the resignation of Daryl Maguire (IND, Wagga Wagga), who resigned from the Liberal Party on 13 July 2018 and from Parliament on 3 August 2018, Joe McGirr (IND) was elected at the resulting by-election on 8 September 2018.

In the Legislative Council:

  • Following the resignation of Mehreen Faruqi (AG) on 14 August 2018, the resulting casual vacancy was filled by Cate Faehrmann (AG) on 15 August 2018.


In the Legislative Council:

  • Rachel Carling-Jenkins (AC, Western Metropolitan) announced on 4 August 2018 that she had resigned from the Australian Conservatives and would sit as an independent.

Western Australia

In the Legislative Assembly:

  • Alyssa Hayden (LIB) was elected at a by-election in the seat of Darling Range on 23 June 2018, following the resignation of Barry Urban (IND) on 8 May 2018.

    For copyright reasons some linked items are only available to members of Parliament.

    © Commonwealth of Australia

    Creative commons logo

    Creative Commons

    With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, and to the extent that copyright subsists in a third party, this publication, its logo and front page design are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia licence.

    In essence, you are free to copy and communicate this work in its current form for all non-commercial purposes, as long as you attribute the work to the author and abide by the other licence terms. The work cannot be adapted or modified in any way. Content from this publication should be attributed in the following way: Author(s), Title of publication, Series Name and No, Publisher, Date.

    To the extent that copyright subsists in third party quotes it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.

    Inquiries regarding the licence and any use of the publication are welcome to

    This work has been prepared to support the work of the Australian Parliament using information available at the time of production. The views expressed do not reflect an official position of the Parliamentary Library, nor do they constitute professional legal opinion.

    Any concerns or complaints should be directed to the Parliamentary Librarian. Parliamentary Library staff are available to discuss the contents of publications with Senators and Members and their staff. To access this service, clients may contact the author or the Library‘s Central Enquiry Point for referral.