Composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender: a quick guide

Updated 16 May 2017

PDF Version [453KB]

Anna Hough
Politics and Public Administration

This quick guide contains the most recent tables showing the composition of Australian parliaments by party and gender (see Table 1 and Table 2). It takes into account changes to the Commonwealth parliament and the parliaments of Western Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania since the last update was published on 20 February 2017.


  • In the Senate, Peter Georgiou (PHON, WA) replaces Rod Culleton (Ind., WA), whose election was declared void by the High Court sitting as the Court of Disputed returns. Senator Georgiou was sworn in on 27 March 2017.
  • Senator Lucy Gichuhi (Ind., SA) replaces Bob Day (Family First Party, SA) following Day’s resignation in November 2016. In late April 2017 the Family First Party merged with the Australian Conservatives (with the combined party to be called the Australian Conservatives). Senator Gichuhi, who was sworn in on 9 May 2017, has opted not to join the merged party.

Western Australia

  • The figures for Western Australia reflect the results of the state general election held on 11 March 2017. New members of the Legislative Council elected on that date are included in the figures, and will take their seats on 22 May 2017.

New South Wales

  • In New South Wales, following three by-elections on 8 April 2017:
    • Liesl Tesch (ALP) became the Member for Gosford, replacing Kathy Smith (ALP)
    • James Griffin (LP) became the Member for Manly, replacing Mike Baird (LP) and
    • Felicity Wilson (LP) became the Member for North Shore, replacing Jillian Skinner (LP).


  • Don Nardella (ALP, Melton) resigned from the Labor Party to sit as an Independent.
  • The figures for Victoria include one vacancy in the Legislative Council following the resignation of Steve Herbert (ALP, Northern Victoria).

South Australia

  • Frances Bedford (ALP, Florey) resigned from the Labor Party to sit as an Independent.
  • Duncan McFetridge (LP, Morphett) resigned from the Liberal Party to sit as an Independent.
  • Following the merging of the Family First Party and the Australian Conservatives, two Members of the Legislative Council who previously represented Family First—Robert Brokenshire and Dennis Hood—now represent the Australian Conservatives.


  • Following Tasmanian Legislative Council elections on 6 May 2017:
    • Rosemary Armitage (Ind., Launceston) and Ruth Forrest (Ind., Murchison) were both re-elected; and
    • Sarah Lovell (ALP) defeated Tony Mulder (Ind.) in Rumney.


For copyright reasons some linked items are only available to members of Parliament.

© Commonwealth of Australia

Creative commons logo

Creative Commons

With the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, and to the extent that copyright subsists in a third party, this publication, its logo and front page design are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia licence.

In essence, you are free to copy and communicate this work in its current form for all non-commercial purposes, as long as you attribute the work to the author and abide by the other licence terms. The work cannot be adapted or modified in any way. Content from this publication should be attributed in the following way: Author(s), Title of publication, Series Name and No, Publisher, Date.

To the extent that copyright subsists in third party quotes it remains with the original owner and permission may be required to reuse the material.

Inquiries regarding the licence and any use of the publication are welcome to

This work has been prepared to support the work of the Australian Parliament using information available at the time of production. The views expressed do not reflect an official position of the Parliamentary Library, nor do they constitute professional legal opinion.

Any concerns or complaints should be directed to the Parliamentary Librarian. Parliamentary Library staff are available to discuss the contents of publications with Senators and Members and their staff. To access this service, clients may contact the author or the Library‘s Central Enquiry Point for referral.