Collaborative Doctoral Program PhD Scholarship

The Parliamentary Library is partnering with the Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies in the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences to offer a Collaborative Doctoral Scholarship to contribute to scholarship on the Australian Parliament and its work.

The successful applicants will enroll in the Interdisciplinary and Cross-Cultural Research graduate program at ANU and be located at the Parliamentary Library for part of their candidature. The Parliamentary Library is a unique research environment and the Scholarship allows scholars to understand and work within this important national institution.

Applicants are invited to develop a proposal in the following areas:

  • Parliament and democracy
  • Australian federalism
  • The Australian Parliament and nation building
  • The role of Parliament in shaping key public debates
  • Parliamentarians and parliamentary history, with particular focus on the early federal period.

Proposals for thesis by publication or scholarly edition will be welcomed.

To be considered applicants must also apply for entry into the ANU PhD and scholarship round closing on 8 March 2020.

For enquiries contact Dr Dianne Heriot (, Dr Kate Bowan ( or Professor Paul Pickering (