About this committee

The Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters is appointed under a resolution of appointment which was passed by the House of Representatives on 1 September 2016 and the Senate on 12 September 2016.

The Committee conducts inquiries into such matters relating to electoral laws and practices and their administration as may be referred to it by either House of the Parliament or a Minister. In addition it may also inquire into relevant annual reports of government departments and authorities and reports of the Auditor-General presented in the House.

Track Committee

Committee Secretariat contact:

Committee Secretary
Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6277 2374
Fax: +61 2 6277 4773

Committee Membership

Committee Members

Participating Members

Senators Eric Abetz, Chris Back, Cory Bernardi, Catryna Bilyk, David Bushby, Doug Cameron, Kim Carr, Jacinta Collins, Sam Dastyari, Richard Di Natale, Jonathon Duniam, Don Farrell, David Fawcett, Alex Gallacher, Sarah Hanson-Young, Derryn Hinch, Jane Hume, David Leyonhjelm, Sue Lines, Scott Ludlam, Ian Macdonald, Gavin Marshall, Jenny McAllister, Malarndirri McCarthy, Bridget McKenzie, Nick McKim, Claire Moore, Deborah O'Neill, James Paterson, Helen Polley, Louise Pratt, Janet Rice, Rachel Siewert, Lisa Singh, Dean Smith, Glenn Sterle, Anne Urquhart, Larissa Waters, Murray Watt, Peter Whish-Wilson, John Williams, Penny Wong