Senate composition

Comparison of Senate numbers in the 45th and 46th Parliaments 

The 45th Parliament was prorogued on 11 April 2019 and a general election was held on 18 May. The terms of state senators elected on that date commenced on 1 July 2019. The terms of territory senators began on the date of their election.

Detailed information on the composition of the 45th parliament is also available.