House of Representatives Committees

| Parliamentary Joint Committee on Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

Navigation: Contents | Next Page


Preliminary Pages

Membership of the Committee


The Hon Anthony Byrne MP



Deputy Chair

The Hon Philip Ruddock MP




Mr Michael Danby MP

Senator Mark Bishop


Mr  John Forrest MP

Senator the Hon George Brandis SC


Mr Daryl Melham MP

(until 14 March 2012)

The Hon Kevin Rudd MP

(from 14 March 2012)

Senator the Hon John Faulkner

Senator the Hon David Johnston Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens


Mr Andrew Wilkie MP





Committee Secretariat



Mr Jerome Brown

Inquiry Secretary

Mr Robert Little

Administrative Officers

Ms Jessica Butler


Mrs Sonya Gaspar


Mrs Emma Black


Terms of Reference


This inquiry and report is conducted under the following powers:

Criminal Code Act 1995

Section 102.1A  Reviews by Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security

Review of listing regulation

(1)   If a regulation made after the commencement of this section specifies an organisation for the purposes of paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in section 102.1, the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security may:

(a)   review the regulation as soon as possible after the making of the regulation; and

(b)   report the Committee’s comments and recommendations to each House of the Parliament before the end of the applicable disallowance period.



Hizballah ESO

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2012 (No 6)

Registered: 11 May 2012 (FRLI: F2012L01016)

List of recommendations

The Listing

Recommendation 1

The Committee recommends that the regulation, made under the Criminal Code section 102.1, to list Hizballah’s External Security Organisation as a terrorist organisation not be disallowed.

Navigation: Contents | Next Page

Back to top