House of Representatives Committees

Joint Standing Committee on Treaties

Committee activities (inquiries and reports)

Inquiry into Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament

Inquiry home | Terms of reference | Public hearings | Media releases | Report


The Committee encourages submissions to its inquiry from a wide range of individuals and organisations. While we prefer submissions lodged in an original, electronic format, we do not want to exclude contributors who do not have access to computing facilities. Therefore, we will accept submissions in a range of formats which may include typewritten and handwritten documents.

Submissions to this inquiry are listed below in Portable Document Format (PDF). If an alternative format (ie, hard copy or large print) is required, please contact the Committee Secretariat. More submissions will be added to the list when they are received and authorised for publication.

For more information on submissions, please refer to our brochure on preparing a submission.

To view or print the submissions, you will need Adobe Acrobat® PDF Reader, which can be downloaded free of charge from Adobe

There is currently a total of 87 submissions and 8 supplementary submissions in the following list.

  1. Australian Patriot Movement (PDF 417KB)
  2. Environmentalists for Nuclear Energy (PDF 270KB)
  3. Tasmanian Quaker Peace and Social Justice Committee (PDF 13KB)
  4. World Citizens Association (Australia) (PDF 46KB)
  5. Dr Margaret Beavis (PDF 11KB)
  6. Mr Michael Beasley (PDF 74KB)
  7. Mr Paul Grillo (PDF 26KB)
  8. These same points were also made in correspondence received from the following individuals:

    Ms Elizabeth Makin

    Ms Suzanne Gray

    Ms Sarah Benson

    Mr Sian Williamson

    Ms Kiera Dingle

    Ms Ange Parrish

  9. Citizens' Nuclear Information Center (PDF 137KB)
  10. 8.1 Supplementary to submission 8
    Citizens' Nuclear Information Center (PDF 111KB)

  11. DESERTEC-Australia (PDF 251KB)
  12. Mr David Swaby (PDF 21KB)
  13. Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (PDF 60KB)
  14. 11.1 Supplementary to submission 11
    Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (PDF 1118KB)

  15. Ms Jody Witt (PDF 12KB)
  16. Ms Dawn Jecks (PDF 14KB)
  17. Ms Christa Schwoebel (PDF 22KB)
  18. People for Nuclear Disarmament, Perth (PDF 182KB)
  19. Mr Richard Broinowski (PDF 43KB)
  20. Quaker Peace & Legislation Committee (PDF 18KB)
  21. Dr Marko Beljac (PDF 72KB)
  22. Mr Frank Barnaby (PDF 30KB)
  23. Mr Hans-Peter Schnelboebl (PDF 46KB)
  24. Ms Rosalind Byass (PDF 15KB)
  25. Mr Robert Burke (PDF 20KB)
  26. Mr Stanley Johnston (PDF 61KB)
  27. Mr Adam Dempsey (PDF 81KB)
  28. Ms Marion Giles (PDF 10KB)
  29. Mr David Egan (PDF 10KB)
  30. Uniting Justice Australia (PDF 392KB)
  31. Campaign for International Co-operation and Disarmament (PDF 20KB)
  32. Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office & Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (PDF 290KB)
  33. Mr Allan Behm (PDF 169KB)
  34. UN Association of Australia (PDF 108KB)
  35. Mr Benedict Keaney (PDF 17KB)
  36. Peace Organisation of Australia (PDF 52KB)
  37. Ms Mia Pepper (PDF 16KB)
  38. United Nations Youth Association of Australia (PDF 233KB)
  39. Mr Nicholas Maclellan (PDF 67KB)
  40. Pax Christi Australia (PDF 27KB)
  41. Vine & Fig Tree Planters (PDF 96KB)
  42. Soka Gakkai International Australia (PDF 88KB)
  43. Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (PDF 716KB)
  44. Dr Tom Keaney (PDF 18KB)
  45. International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (PDF 239KB)
  46. Ms Leitha Martin (PDF 10KB)
  47. Rep Park Jin (PDF 23KB)
  48. Australian Uranium Association (PDF 262KB)
  49. 45.1 Supplementary to submission 45
    Australian Uranium Association (PDF 66KB)

    45.2 Supplementary to submission 45
    Australian Uranium Association (PDF 126KB)

  50. Ms Samantha Sunners (PDF 13KB)
  51. Mr Kasey Sparks (PDF 10KB)
  52. Ms Mary Cusack (PDF 175KB)
  53. Ms Michele Madigan (PDF 29KB)
  54. Dr Carl Ungerer (PDF 32KB)
  55. Mr Richard Leaver (PDF 46KB)
  56. Mr James Cocking (PDF 12KB)
  57. Professor Richard Tanter (PDF 88KB)
  58. Dr Ben Saul (PDF 61KB)
  59. Australian Conservation Foundation (PDF 535KB)
  60. Mr Bill Fisher (PDF 192KB)
  61. Confidential
  62. Australian Council of Trade Unions (PDF 58KB)
  63. Edmund Rice Centre for Justice & Community Education (PDF 95KB)
  64. Social Policy Connections (PDF 138KB)
  65. Medical Association for Prevention of War (Australia) (PDF 239KB)
  66. The Revd Dr Wesley Neil Campbell (PDF 118KB)
  67. Japanese for Peace (PDF 22KB)
  68. Canadian Centre for Treaty Compliance (CCTC) (PDF 92KB)
  69. Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (PDF 105KB)
  70. Mr Joseph A Camilleri (PDF 487KB)
  71. Friends of the Earth, Adelaide (PDF 37KB)
  72. Victorian Trades Hall Council (PDF 14KB)
  73. Inter-Parliamentary Union (PDF 55KB)
  74. International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) (PDF 307KB)
  75. Ms Madeline Hudson (PDF 19KB)
  76. Associate Professor Michael Hamel-Green (PDF 30KB)
  77. Greenpeace Australia Pacific (PDF 50KB)
  78. The Environment Centre NT (PDF 210KB)
  79. The Anti-Nuclear Alliance of WA (PDF 214KB)
  80. Australian Psychological Society (PDF 286KB)
  81. Friends of the Earth, Australia (PDF 97KB)
  82. 77.1 Supplementary to submission 77
    Friends of the Earth, Australia (PDF 115KB)

  83. Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission (WMDC) (PDF 23KB)
  84. Dr Marianne Hanson (PDF 36KB)
  85. Dr Margaret Campbell (PDF 148KB)
  86. Mr Sergio Duarte (PDF 997KB)
  87. Ms Rosemarie Severin (PDF 52KB)
  88. West Australian Quakers (PDF 124KB)
  89. CTBTO Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (PDF 809KB)
  90. Professor Richard Garwin (PDF 264KB)
  91. Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (PDF 283KB)
  92. 86.1 Supplementary to submission 86
    Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (PDF 1169KB)

    86.2 Supplementary to submission 86
    Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (PDF 588KB)

    86.3 Supplementary to submission 86
    Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (PDF 24KB)

  93. Ms Joan Rohlfing (PDF 1742KB)

Back to top

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.