House of Representatives Committees

| Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents | Next Page

Appendix C – Witnesses who appeared at public hearings

Canberra, Tuesday, 9 October 2012

Attorney-General’s Department

Mr Iain Anderson, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division

Ms Rebekah Kilpatrick, Director, People Trafficking Section, Criminal Justice Division

Ms Danica Yanchenko, Senior Legal Officer, People Trafficking Section, Criminal Justice Division


Canberra, Tuesday, 20 November 2012

Australian Christian Lobby

Mr Lyle Gavin Shelton, Chief of Staff

Mr Daniel James Simon, Research Officer

Australian Crime Commission

Ms Karen Harfield, Executive Director

Christian Faith and Freedom Inc.

Mrs Karen Bos, Board Vice President

Ms Andrea Tokaji, Board Member

Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education

Ms Susan Elizabeth Bennett, General Manager, Mobility, South and South East Asia Branch, International Education and Science Division

Ms Jessie Borthwick, Head of Division, Tertiary Quality and Student Support Division

Mr Robert Griew, Associate Secretary

Fair Work Ombudsman

Mr Bill Loizides, Group Manager, Policy, Education and Partnership Group

Ms Sheridan White, Director, Government and Parliamentary Policy

Law Council of Australia

Ms Rosemary Budavari, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights

Ms Fiona McLeod, Director

World Vision Australia

Ms Melissa Stewart, Senior Advisor, Trafficking in Persons


Canberra, Wednesday, 21 November 2012

Australian Institute of Criminology

Ms Laura Beacroft, Research Manager, Trafficking in Persons Research Program

Dr Lisa Rosevear, Research Officer

Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Ms Jaala Corinne Hinchcliffe, Senior Assistant Director, Legal, Policy and Law Reform Branch

Ms Penelope Joanne (Penny) McKay, Acting Senior Assistant Director, People Smuggling and People Trafficking Prosecutions

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Cate McKenzie, Group Manager, Women, Children and Mental Health

Ms Fiona Smart, Branch Manager, Safety Taskforce

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Dermot Casey PSM, Assistant Secretary, Character and Case Management

Mrs Helen Wright, Acting Assistant Director, Character and Case Management


Canberra, Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Walk Free

Ms Fiona David, Executive Director Global Research

Mr Nick Grono, Chief Executive Officer


Canberra, Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Australian Federal Police

Superintendent Jennifer Cullen, National Coordinator, Human Trafficking Team

Federal Agent Karen Drake, Acting National Coordinator, Crime Operations

Commander Jennifer Hurst, Manager, Crime Operations

Mrs Elsa Sengstock, Coordinator, Legislation Program


Sydney, Monday 21 April 2013

Anti-Slavery Australia

Associate Professor Jennifer Burn

Mrs Joanne Wilton, Researcher

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Tim Chapman, Executive Team Director

Mr David Oliver, Secretary

Ms Amy Schwebel, Research Officer

Falun Dafa Association of New South Wales

Mr John Andrew Deller, Secretary

Ms Caroline Dobson, Research Coordinator

Ms Jennifer Zeng, author, 'Witnessing History': One Woman's Fight for Freedom

Dr Lucy Zhao, President

FamilyVoice Australia

Mrs Roslyn Helen Phillips, Research officer

Josephite Counter-Trafficking Project

Sister Margaret Ng, Coordinator

Sister Noelene Simmons, Volunteer


Sydney, Tuesday, 23 April 2013


Ms Julia Niblett, Assistant Director General, Asia Strategies and Partnerships, East Asia Division

Ms Susan Wilson, Director, East Asia Regional

No Slavery Australia

Mr Kurt James Gruber, Chief Executive Officer

Salvos Legal

Mr Luke Patrick Geary, Managing Partner

Scarlet Alliance, Australian Sex Workers Association

Ms Janelle Fawkes, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Jules Kim, Migration Project Manager

Ms Zahra Stardust, Policy Officer

The Salvation Army

Ms Jennifer Stanger, Supervisor, Safe House for Trafficked Persons


Melbourne, Wednesday, 8 May 2013

Australian Catholic Religious Against Trafficking in Humans

Ms Christine Carolan, National Projects Coordinator

Coalition Against Trafficking in Women Australia

Dr Meagan Tyler, Executive Committee Member

Dr Anne Therese Gallagher, AO

Inner South Community Health Service

Ms Sue White, General Manager

National Tertiary Education Union

Mr Jen Tsen Kwok, Policy and Research Officer

Ms Terri MacDonald, Policy and Research Officer

Plan International Australia

Mrs Amalia Fawcett, Senior Child Rights Specialist

Project Respect

Ms Kelly Hinton, Executive Director

Victoria Police

Detective Superintendent Rod Jouning, Sexual and Family Violence Crime Command

Senior Sergeant Marilynn Ross, Sex Industry Coordination Unit

Mrs Claire Waterman, Senior Project Coordinator, Sexual and Family Violence Crime Command


Melbourne, Thursday, 9 May 2013

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Craig Chittick, Ambassador for People Smuggling Issues

Fair Work Building and Construction

Mr Murray Gregor, Executive Director, Field Operations Eastern

Hagar Australia

Ms Tessa Horsely, Business Support Officer

Mrs Kate Kennedy, Chief Executive Officer

Shakti Migrant and Refugee Women’s Support Group, Melbourne

Ms Hiba Casablanca, Youth Advocate

Ms Emma Chow, Volunteer, Student Placement

Ms Samira Hassan

Ms Siga Hassan

Mrs Namrata Mundkur, Volunteer, Centre Coordinator

Slavery Links Australia

Mr Robert Charles Evans, Chairman

Mr Roscoe Howell, Board Member

Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, Uniting Church in Australia

Dr Mark Andrew Zirnsak, Director, Justice and International Mission Unit


Canberra, Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Attorney-General’s Department

Mr Iain Anderson, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division

Ms Rebekah Kilpatrick, Director, People Trafficking Section, Criminal Justice Division

Navigation: Previous Page | Contents | Next Page

Back to top