House of Representatives Committees

House Standing Committee on Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

ThinkFuture home page | Inquiry home | Terms of Reference | Media Releases

Replay: Opening address and Session One


ThinkFuture: Smart Infrastructure Conference 2010, 12 March 2010

Opening of Proceedings and Session One


Catherine King MP
Committee Chair

Opening Address

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP
Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

Session One: Opportunities for and benefits of smart infrastucture investment

Glen Boreham
Managing Director, IBM Australia

Glen Boreham is Managing Director of IBM Australia and New Zealand having been appointed to this role in January, 2006.  He holds a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Sydney, and completed a Managing Director’s programme at The Wharton School.  In June 2008, Mr Boreham was appointed as the inaugural Chair of Screen Australia.  In addition he is a member of the Business Council of Australia, Deputy Chairman of the Australian Information Industry Association, and serves on the Board of the Australian Chamber Orchestra.  In 2008, Mr Boreham participated in the Australian Government’s 2020 Summit, and in 2009 was appointed to the Government’s Information Technology Innovation Council.  In 2007 and 2009, he was named by the Australian Financial Review in the top five most powerful leaders in information industries.

Prof Robin Batterham
President, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

Professor Robin Batterham is the President of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and is a Professorial Fellow in the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at the University of Melbourne.  He has had a distinguished career in research and technology, in the public and private sectors.  Professor Batterham was Chief Scientist to the Australian Federal Government from 1999 to 2005 on a part-time basis, and has worked with CSIRO in areas such as mining, mineral processing, mineral agglomeration processes, and iron making.  He is a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC), and has recently retired as Chief Technologist, Rio Tinto Limited.  He is a recipient of the Kernot medal from Melbourne University, the Chemeca Medal and the AusIMM Institute Medal 2004.

Karen Curtis
Privacy Commissioner

Karen Curtis was appointed Privacy Commissioner in July 2004. Karen has had a policy interest in privacy for over ten years.  She was appointed by the Governor General to the Privacy Advisory Committee in December 2000 and in her previous position as Director of Industry Policy at the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), she had responsibility for privacy from a business perspective.  Karen was with ACCI, a peak industry association representing over 350,000 Australian businesses, for seven years.  Prior to joining ACCI, she held positions with the federal government where she provided policy advice on industry policy and S&T issues.  Karen is a graduate of the University of Queensland in history, politics and law.  She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Back to top