Time icon

Parliament House is currently

Australia's Coat of Arms

Robin Blau (born 1946), Great Verandah Coat of Arms, 1986–1987, Art/Craft Program, Official Gifts Collection, Parliament House Art Collection; gifted by the Parliament and people of New South Wales, 1998.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander visitors are advised that this webpage contains the names of deceased persons.

Permission to reproduce the Commonwealth Coats of Arms has been granted by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet. The artists’ viewpoints and statements are theirs alone.

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms is an emblem of national identity. It is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia and it represents the authority and property of the Australian Parliament, government, and courts. It conveys characteristics and values of Australia distinct from other nations in the world.

History of the Coat of Arms