Due to COVID-19 Parliament House has limited public access. Bookings are essential for all public visits.

Senator Sarah Henderson

Senator Sarah Henderson

Senator for Victoria

Chair of Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights
Liberal Party of Australia

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

231-233 Moorabool Street
Geelong, VIC, 3220

Postal address

PO Box 821
Geelong, VIC, 3220

(03) 5221 5900

Parliament Office

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 3812


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Corangamite, Victoria, 2013. Re-elected 2016. Defeated at general elections, 2019. Chosen by the Parliament of Victoria 11.9.2019 under section 15 of the Constitution to represent that state in the Senate, vice the Hon. M Fifield (resigned).
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 12.2.2015 to 9.5.2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing and Disability Services from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.
Committee service
  • Senate Standing: Publications from 14.10.2019.
  • Senate Select: Tobacco Harm Reduction from 7.10.2020.
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs: Legislation from 14.10.2019.
  • Joint Statutory: Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings (formerly Broadcasting) from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Human Rights from 15.10.2019 (Chair from 16.10.2019).
  • Joint Standing: National Disability Insurance Scheme from 14.9.2016 to 9.11.2016; Migration from 14.10.2019.
  • Joint Select: Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2015) from 11.2.2015 to 25.6.2015; Implementation of the National Redress Scheme from 13.11.2019.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Health from 4.12.2013 to 9.9.2015; Publications from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Communications and the Arts from 14.9.2016; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 14.9.2016 to 7.2.2018 (Chair from 14.9.2016 to 6.2.2018); Economics from 6.2.2018 (Chair from 6.2.2018 to 28.8.2018).
Parliamentary party positions
  • Member of the Coalition Backbench Committee on Treasury, Finance and Public Administration.
  • Member of the Coalition Backbench Policy Committee on Agriculture, Water Resources, Drought and Environment.
  • Member of the Coalition Backbench Policy Committee on Industrial Relations, Legal and Home Affairs.
Party positions
  • Campaign volunteer for the Liberal Party from 1982.
  • Member of the Liberal Party from 2007.
  • Member of the Corangamite Federal Electorate Conference from 2009.
  • Member of the Liberal Party Women's Council from 2009.
  • Member of the Liberal Party Barwon Region Branch from 2012.
Other positions
  • Member of the Commonwealth of Australia branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.
  • Member of the Australia-UK Parliamentary Friendship Group.
  • Member of the Australia-UAE Parliamentary Friendship Group.
  • Member of the Australia-Lebanon Parliamentary Friendship Group.
  • Member of the Surf Life Saving Parliamentary Friendship Group.
  • Delegate of the Inter-Parliamentary Union for the 46th Parliament from 9.12.2019.
  • Born 4.4.1964, Geelong, Australia
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB(Hons) (Monash University).
  • Reporter for 7 News, Melbourne (Vic.) from 1982 to 1985.
  • Reporter and presenter for 9 News, Brisbane (Qld) from 1985 to 1986.
  • Reporter and presenter for 10 News, Melbourne (Vic.) from 1987 to 1988.
  • Reporter and presenter for ABC-TV from 1989 to 1997.
  • Articled clerk and solicitor at Allens Arthur Robinson (formerly Arthur Robinson & Hedderwicks) from 1998 to 1999.
  • Attorney at News Corporation, New York (US) from 1999 to 2000.
  • Admitted to the Supreme Court as solicitor and barrister (Vic.), 1999.
  • Articled clerk and solicitor at Allens Arthur Robinson (formerly Arthur Robinson & Hedderwicks) from 2001 to 2002.
  • Principal at Kudos Management from 2002 to 2004.
  • Network Business Manager (Programming) at Network Ten from 2004 to 2006.
  • Head of Business Affairs at National Indigenous Television from 2008 to 2009.
  • Senior Consultant at Clifton Group, 2011.
  • Walkley Award for Best Coverage of a Current Story 1996.
  • Golden Quill Award 1996.