Open now — get your ticket to visit.

Hon Gary Nairn MP

Hon Gary Nairn MP

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Eden-Monaro, New South Wales, 1996. Re-elected 1998, 2001 and 2004. Defeated at general elections 2007.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister from 26.10.2004 to 27.1.2006.
  • Special Minister of State from 27.1.2006 to 3.12.2007.
Committee service
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 18.6.1996 to 6.11.2000 (Chair from 29.4.1997 to 6.11.2000); Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004.
  • Joint Select: Retailing Sector from 8.2.1999 to 30.8.1999.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 29.5.1996 to 31.8.1998; Primary Industries and Regional Services from 8.12.1998 to 8.10.2001; Industry, Science and Resources from 8.12.1998 to 8.10.2001; Procedure from 6.11.2000 to 8.10.2001 (Chair from 29.11.2000 to 8.10.2001); Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004; Science and Innovation from 20.3.2002 to 31.8.2004 (Chair from 21.3.2002 to 31.8.2004).
  • House of Representatives Select: Recent Australian Bushfires from 27.3.2003 to 5.11.2003 (Chair from 27.3.2003 to 5.11.2003).
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Bilateral visits to Sweden and Estonia, October 1999.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Canada and China, November-December 2002.
  • Official visit to Sweden and Norway, December 2006.
Party positions
  • Member of the Country Liberal Party (NT) from 1987.
  • President of the Country Liberal Party (NT) from 1990 to 1994.
  • Delegate to the Liberal Party Federal Executive from 1990 to 1994.
  • Delegate to the National Party Federal Management Committee from 1990 to 1994.
  • Member of the Liberal Party (NSW) from 1995.
  • Honorary Life Member of the Country Liberal Party (NT) from 1995.
  • Born 3.1.1951, Sydney, Australia
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BSurv (University of New South Wales).
  • Graduate surveyor 1972-75.
  • Registered surveyor in private practice 1975-83.
  • Managing director, surveying and mapping consultancy 1983-96.
  • Name: Eden-Monaro
  • Location: New South Wales far south coast, the Snowy Mountains and tablelands; it includes the centres of Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.
  • Area: 30,946 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 92,532 (at 9.10.2004)
  • Industries: Snowy Mountains Scheme (hydro-electric), vegetables, maize, butter, cheese, fish processing, timber mills, beans, dairy cattle, potatoes, wool, sawmills, wood-pulping factories, eucalyptus distillery, defence and tourism.
  • Includes: Eden-Monaro includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Bega, Burrinjuck and Monaro.