Mr Geoff Lyons MP


Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Bass, Tasmania, 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 27.2.12
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture, Resources, Fisheries and Forestry from 25.10.2010 to 2.7.2016; Health and Ageing from 25.10.2010 to 2.7.2016; Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.2010 to 2.7.2016; Climate Change, Environment and the Arts from 11.10.2011 to 7.2.2012; Procedure from 14.3.2012 to 5.8.2013.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP from 1971
  • Born 29.4.1953, Sydney, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Clerk, Attorney-General's Dept 1971-77
  • Investigations officer, Consumer Affairs Council 1977-81
  • Senior Clerk, Supreme Court, Launceston 1981-82
  • Government casino inspector 1982-87
  • Manager, Beaconsfield District Hospital 1987-91
  • Project officer, Northern Regional Health, Tasmania 1991-92
  • Business manager, Launceston General Hospital 1992-98
  • Senior Private Secretary to the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Industrial Relations (Tas.), the Hon. PJ Patmore, MHA 1998-2001
  • Business manager, Launceston General Hospital 2001-09
  • Electorate officer to Senator HB Polley 2009-10
  • Description: Provincial
  • Location: north-east Tasmania; it includes the city of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Ringarooma and Scottsdale. Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island and Flinders Island are also in this division.
  • Area: 7378 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 0 (at 21.8.2010)
  • Industries: aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.
  • Electorate: Bass is co-extensive with the Tasmanian House of Assembly electorate of the same name.
  • National Emergency Service Medal, 06.08.1997
  • Australian Sports Medal, 13.09.2000