Hon Alannah MacTiernan MP


Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • State: elected to the Western Australian Legislative Council for East Metropolitan Region from 22.5.1993. Resigned 21.11.1996.
  • Elected to the Western Australian Legislative Assembly for Armadale from 14.12.1996. Resigned 20.7.2010.
  • Federal: elected to the House of Representatives for Perth, Western Australia, 2013. Retired prior to general elections 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • State: Minister for Planning and Infrastructure (WA) from 16.2.01 to 6.9.08.
Committee service
  • State: Standing (WA): Constitutional Affairs and Statutes Revision from 3.8.93 to 14.11.96; Public Accounts and Expenditure Review from 11.3.97 to 10.1.01; Joint House from 20.3.97 to 11.6.98; Joint Parliamentary Services from 11.6.98 to 24.11.98; Community Development and Justice from 13.11.08 (Chair from 16.11.08) to 20.7.10.
  • Federal: House of Representatives Standing: Education and Employment from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Select: Northern Australia from 9.12.13 to 9.5.16.
Parliamentary party positions
  • State: Shadow Minister for Productivity; Labour Relations from 18.10.94 to 15.1.97; Legislative Council Spokesperson on Housing and Construction from 23.1.95 to 18.3.96; Shadow Minister for Construction Industry from 18.3.96 to 15.10.96; Shadow Minister for Housing Construction from 15.10.96 to 15.1.97; Shadow Minister for Transport from 15.1.97 to 10.2.01; Shadow Minister for Fair Trading from 15.1.97 to 4.8.99; Shadow Minister for Planning from 5.8.99 to 10.2.01; Shadow Minister for Regional Development; Strategic Infrastructure; Climate Change from 26.9.08 to 5.3.10.
  • Federal: Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Western Australia from 4.3.14.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure from 4.3.14.
  • Born 10.1.1953, East Melbourne, Vic.
  • Partner.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA, LLB, BJur (UWA).
  • Solicitor.
  • Member, WA Legislative Council 1993-96 and WA Legislative Assembly 1996-2010 (see Parliamentary service above).
  • Director, EMC Solar Ltd 2011-13.
Local government service
  • Mayor, City of Vincent 2011-13.
  • Description: inner metropolitan.
  • Location: north central and north-eastern Perth; it includes the city of Perth and the suburbs of Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Bedford, Beechboro, East Perth, Eden Hill, Embleton, Highgate, Inglewood, Kiara, Lockridge, Maylands, Morley, Mt Lawley, Noranda, Northbridge, and parts of Coolbinia, Dianella, Menora, North Perth, West Perth and Yokine.
  • Area: 78 sq km (approx.).
  • Electors enrolled: 95 247 (at 7.9.13).
  • Industries: commercial, retail and service industries, administration.
  • State electorates: Perth includes the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bassendean and Maylands, and parts of Morley, Mount Lawley and Perth.