Hon Jamie Briggs MP


Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Mayo, South Australia at by-election 6.9.2008, vice the Hon. AJG Downer (resigned). Re-elected 2010 and 2013. Defeated at general elections 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development from 18.9.13 to 21.9.15.
  • Minister for Cities and the Built Environment from 21.9.15 to 30.12.15.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Health and Ageing from 25.9.08 to 4.6.09; Economics from 25.2.09 to 19.7.10.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.9.08 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 10.11.08 to 9.10.12.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Chairman, Scrutiny of Government Waste Committee from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Supporting Families from 19.9.12 to 18.9.13.
Party positions
  • Member, Liberal Party (SA) from 1999.
  • Member, Liberal Party State Council (SA) 2000-02.
  • Secretary, Liberal Party Mt Barker Branch 2008.
  • Born 9.6.1977, Kyneton, Vic.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Employment relations adviser, Business SA 2000-02.
  • Research Assistant to the Hon. RI Lucas, MLC (SA) 2002-03.
  • Adviser to the Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, the Hon. KJ Andrews, MP 2003-04.
  • Senior Adviser to the Prime Minister, the Hon. JW Howard, MP 2004-07.
  • Description: rural.
  • Location: Adelaide Hills and the Fleurieu Peninsula; it includes the centres of Bridgewater, Crafers, Echunga, Gumeracha, Hahndorf, Langhorne Creek, Lobethal, Macclesfield, Mt Barker, Myponga, Oakbank, Stirling, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor, Woodside and Yankalilla, and parts of Birdwood. It also includes Kangaroo Island.
  • Area: 9315 sq km (approx.).
  • Electors enrolled: 100 519 (at 7.9.13).
  • Industries: dairying, beef, sheep, apples, pears, cherries, smallgoods, Kanmantoo copper mines, Jupiter Creek goldfields, forestry, natural spring water, wine, cereals, tourism and the Woodside army barracks.
  • State electorates: Mayo includes parts of the South Australian House of Assembly electorates of Bragg, Davenport, Finniss, Fisher, Hammond, Heysen, Kaurna, Kavel, Mawson, Morialta, Newland and Schubert.