Hon Richard Marles MP


Member for Corio, Victoria

Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

17A Yarra Street
Geelong, VIC, 3220

Postal address

17A Yarra Street
Geelong, VIC, 3220

(03) 5221 3033
(03) 5222 4505

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4330
(02) 6277 8599


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Corio, Victoria, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Innovation and Industry from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs from 14.9.2010 to 22.3.2013.
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs from 5.3.2012 to 22.3.2013.
  • Minister for Trade from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
  • Cabinet Minister from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
Committee service
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.5.2013 to 9.5.2016; Treaties from 14.5.2013 to 5.8.2013 (Chair from 14.5.2013 to 5.8.2013).
  • Joint Select: DisabilityCare Australia from 19.6.2013 to 5.8.2013.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 19.2.2008 to 15.6.2009 (Chair from 13.3.2008 to 15.6.2009); Economics from 19.2.2008 to 15.6.2009; Employment and Workplace Relations from 19.2.2008 to 15.6.2009.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.
  • Shadow Minister for Defence from 23.7.2016.
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 30.5.2019.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Australian Labor Party from 30.5.2019.
Party positions
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2004.
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party International Projects from 2006 to 2009.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2007.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2009.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2011.
  • Born 13.7.1967, Melbourne, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BSc (University of Melbourne)
  • LLB(Hons) (University of Melbourne)
  • Solicitor 1993-94
  • Federal Legal Officer, Transport Workers' Union of Australia (TWU) 1994-98
  • Federal Assistant Secretary, Transport Workers' Union of Australia (TWU) 1998-2000
  • Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) 2000-07
  • Location: south-west of Melbourne; it includes the suburbs and towns of Anakie (part), Avalon, Batesford (part), Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, Breakwater, Clifton Springs (part), Corio, Curlewis, Drysdale, Fyansford (part), East Geelong, Geelong, North Geelong, South Geelong, Geelong West, Hamlyn Heights, Herne Hill, Lara, Leopold (part), Lovely Banks, Manifold Heights, Moolap, Newcomb, Newtown (part), Norlane, North Shore, Portarlington, St Albans Park, St Leonards, Rippleside, Thomson (part) and Whittington.
  • Area: 989 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 107,808 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: stevedoring, vehicle manufacturing plant, meat processing, aluminium smelter, petroleum refinery, woollen mills, saltworks, poultry and mussel farming, fishing, wood chipping, wool scouring, fertiliser refining, tourism, tannery, carpet, clothing, shoes, chemical production and aeronautical services.