Hon Alex Hawke MP


Member for Mitchell, New South Wales

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Suite 8
23 Terminus Street
Castle Hill, NSW, 2154

Postal address

PO Box 1173
Castle Hill, NSW, 2154

(02) 9899 7211
(02) 9899 7990

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4430
(02) 6277 8522


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Mitchell, New South Wales, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 4.3.14 to 21.9.15.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister to the Treasurer from 21.9.15 to 19.7.16.
  • Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 19.7.16 to 20.12.17.
  • Assistant Minister for Home Affairs from 20.12.17.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Petitions from 11.3.08 to 19.7.10; Education and Employment from 4.12.13 to 9.9.15; Environment from 4.12.13 to 14.9.15 (Chair from 9.12.13 to 9.9.15 to 14.9.15).
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters from 4.12.13 to 14.7.14 and from 7.9.15 to 12.10.15; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.13 to 12.10.15.
  • Joint Select: Cyber-Safety from 25.10.10 to 24.6.13.
Party positions
  • Member, Liberal Party from 1995.
  • Member, Liberal Party State Executive (NSW) 2002-05; Member, Liberal Party Federal Executive 2005.
  • President, Young Liberals (NSW) 2002-05; Federal President, Young Liberals 2005.
  • Member, Liberal Party Campaign Committee.
  • Delegate, Liberal Party State and Federal Councils.
  • Born 9.7.1977, Wollongong, NSW.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (Government/Philosophy) (USyd).
  • MPA and Gov. (USyd).
  • Retail manager 1998.
  • Adviser to the Minister for Revenue and Assistant Treasurer, the Hon. HL Coonan 2001-03.
  • Adviser to the Hon. DJ Clarke, MLC 2003-07.
  • Adviser to RC Williams, MLA 2007.
Military Service
  • Officer, Australian Army Reserve, Royal Australian Armoured Corps; Lieutenant, 1st/15th Royal NSW Lancers, Parramatta 1995-2000.
    Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: north-western outskirts of Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Nelson and Box Hill in the north-west to Northmead and North Rocks in the south-east. The main suburbs include Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Kellyville, Nelson, Northmead, North Rocks, Rouse Hill, Winston Hills and West Pennant Hills.
    Area: 101 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 102 410 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: commercial and business services, light industry, education and retail.
    State electorates: Mitchell includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Epping, Parramatta and Seven Hills.