Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Hon Mark Butler MP

Hon Mark Butler MP

Member for Hindmarsh

Minister for Health and Aged Care
Deputy Leader of the House
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

21 Commercial Road
Port Adelaide, SA, 5015

Postal address

PO Box 2038
Port Adelaide, SA, 5015

(08) 8241 0190

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7220


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Port Adelaide, South Australia, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013, 2016. Elected to the House of Representatives for Hindmarsh, South Australia, following electoral redistribution, 2019. Re-elected 2022.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Health from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.
  • Minister for Mental Health and Ageing from 14.9.2010 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Mental Health Reform from 12.9.2011 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister for Social Inclusion from 14.12.2011 to 1.7.2013.
  • Cabinet Minister from 14.12.2011 to 18.9.2013.
  • Minister for Housing and Homelessness from 4.2.2013 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister for Climate Change from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
  • Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
  • Minister for Health and Aged Care from 1.6.2022.
  • Cabinet Minister from 1.6.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs served from 19.2.2008 to 15.6.2009; Environment served from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016
  • Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library served from 18.2.2008 to 9.6.2009
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works served as Chair from 18.2.2008 to 15.6.2009; Public Accounts and Audit served from 18.2.2008 to 15.6.2009
Parliamentary party positions
  • Deputy Leader of the House from 31.5.2022.
  • Shadow Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.
  • Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy from 23.7.2016 to 28.1.2021.
  • Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 2.6.2019 to 23.5.2022.
  • Shadow Minister for Health and Ageing from 28.1.2021 to 23.5.2022.
Party positions
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (SA) from 1993.
  • President of the Australian Labor Party State Branch (SA) from 1997 to 1998.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference from 1998.
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party National Executive from 2000.
  • Born 8.7.1970, Canberra, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB(Hons) (University of Adelaide).
  • MIR (Deakin University).
  • BA(Juris) (University of Adelaide).
  • Union official from 1992 to 2007.
  • Name: Hindmarsh
  • Location: The Division of Hindmarsh consists of: part of the City of Charles Sturt, part of the City of Port Adelaide Enfield, and part of the City of West Torrens.
  • Area: 122 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 122,645 (at 6.6.2019)
  • Industries: Aviation, cement, commercial fishing, electricity generation, flour mills, grain bulk handling, heavy engineering, major retailing, manufacturing industry, motion picture production, numerous sporting venues, petroleum storage, police academy, shipping, small industries, stevedoring, tourism, warship & submarine construction, waste disposal and wool stores.
  • Awarded a Centenary Medal, 01.01.2001.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.