Mr Nick Champion MP


Member for Wakefield, South Australia

Deputy Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Shop 89, 600 Main North Road
Smithfield, SA, 5114

Postal address

PO Box 288
Smithfield, SA, 5114

(08) 8284 2422
(08) 8284 2433

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4451
(02) 6277 8511


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Wakefield, South Australia, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Science and Innovation from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Primary Industries and Resources from 19.2.08 to 19.7.10; Infrastructure and Communications from 14.3.12 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Crime Commission from 18.2.08 to 19.7.10; Public Works from 18.2.08 to 19.7.10.
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 25.10.10 and from 15.9.16; Parliamentary Library from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Select: Gambling Reform from 21.10.10 to 14.3.12; Parliamentary Budget Office from 23.11.10 to 23.3.11; Christmas Island Tragedy from 22.3.11 to 29.6.11.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Health from 1.7.14 to 13.10.15.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Manufacturing from 13.10.15 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for Manufacturing and Science from 23.07.16.
Party positions
  • President, ALP (SA) 2005-06.
  • Caucus Secretary, Federal Parliamentary Labor Party 2010-11.
  • Born 27.2.1972, Elizabeth, SA.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA, GradDip in Communication (SA).
  • Occupational health and safety officer, training officer and organiser, Shop Distributive and Allied Employees' Association.
  • Sport and Recreation Policy Adviser to the Hon. M Wright, MHA (SA).
  • Description: rural.
  • Location: north and east of Adelaide; it includes the centres of Balaklava, Clare, Craigmore, Elizabeth, Freeling, Gawler, Kapunda, Mallala, Munno Parra, Riverton, Tarlee, Virginia and Williamstown, and parts of Salisbury and Port Wakefield.
  • Area: 6 407 sq km.
  • Electors enrolled: 112 251 (at 2.7.16).
  • Industries: commercial, retail and technology-based industry, defence, Edinburgh RAAF Base, automotive manufacturing, cereal crops, sheep, cattle, market gardens and viticulture.
  • State electorates: Wakefield includes the South Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Light and Napier, and parts of Frome, Goyder, Little Para, Ramsay, Schubert, Stuart and Taylor.