Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Mr Darren Cheeseman

Mr Darren Cheeseman

Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Corangamite, Victoria, 2007. Re-elected 2010. Defeated at general elections 2013.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 29.11.2012 to 5.8.2013.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 6.2.2013 to 5.8.2013.
  • Joint Select: Australia's Clean Energy Future Legislation from 14.9.2011 to 7.10.2011.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Science and Innovation from 19.2.2008 to 19.7.2010; Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 19.2.2008 to 19.7.2010; Agriculture, Resources, Fisheries and Forestry from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Privileges and Members' Interests from 25.10.2010 to 21.8.2012; Climate Change, Environment and the Arts from 13.2.2013 to 5.8.2013.
Party positions
  • President of the Australian Labor Party Ballarat West Branch, 1998.
  • Born 8.6.1976, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Union organiser from 2001 to 2007.
Local Government service
  • Councillor, City of Ballarat from 1999 to 2002.
  • Name: Corangamite
  • Location: south-western Victoria; it includes the outer southern Geelong suburbs of Belmont, Grovedale and Highton, and the towns of Anglesea, Apollo Bay, Barwon Heads, Colac, Inverleigh, Linton, Lorne, Ocean Grove, Portarlington, Torquay and Winchelsea.
  • Area: 7,724 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 101,569 (at 21.8.2010)
  • Industries: beef and dairy cattle, crops, fishing, forestry, horticultural and organic farming, sheep, food processing, manufacturing, retail and tourism.
  • Includes: Corangamite includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of South Barwon, and parts of Ballarat East, Bellarine, Geelong, Polwarth and Rippon.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.