The Hon Neil Andrew MP


Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Wakefield, South Australia, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998 and 2001.
  • Retired prior to general elections 2004.
Parliamentary positions
  • Deputy Chair of Committees from 26.2.85 to 19.9.85, from 23.5.89 to 19.2.90 and from 4.5.93 to 21.2.94.
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 21.2.94 to 10.11.98.
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives from 10.11.98 to 31.8.04.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Library from 10.5.83 to 26.10.84 and from 8.12.98 (Chair from 8.12.98) to 31.8.04; Publications from 10.5.83 to 26.10.84; Aboriginal Affairs from 10.5.83 to 26.10.84 and from 8.10.87 to 29.9.88; Selection from 15.5.90 to 8.2.93 and from 7.5.96 to 31.8.98; Finance and Public Administration from 16.5.90 to 28.11.91; Banking, Finance and Public Administration from 28.11.91 to 8.2.93; Procedure from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 30.5.96 to 29.9.97; House from 22.10.97 (Chair from 8.12.98) to 31.8.04.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works from 28.2.85 to 5.6.87 and from 12.5.93 (Chair from 30.5.96) to 2.9.97; Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings from 8.12.98 to 31.8.04.
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Biennial Parliamentary Exchange Visit, Japan, October 1983.
  • Member, 25th South Pacific Conference, Honiara, September-October 1985.
  • Member, 33rd CPA Conference, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, August-September 1987.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to the European Parliamentary Institutions and Ireland, August-September 1991.
  • Member, Official Delegation to Hong Kong and China, July 1994.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Poland, Hungary and Germany, September-October 1996.
  • Parliamentary Delegate to the Australian Constitutional Convention, Canberra, February 1998.
  • Attended meeting of the Standing Committee of Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers, Ottawa, Canada, January 1999; Tanzania, January 2001.
  • Leader, Parliamentary Delegation to the 101st IPU Conference, Brussels, Belgium and bilateral visit to Norway, April 1999; 103rd IPU Conference, Amman, Jordan and bilateral visit to Tanzania, April-May 2000; 104th IPU Conference, Jakarta, Indonesia, and bilateral visit to Vietnam, October 2000; 108th IPU Conference, Canada and Chile, March-April 2003.
  • Leader, Parliamentary Delegation to Greece, Cyprus, Turkey and Singapore, July 1999.
  • Chair, 15th Conference of Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers, Canberra, January 2000; attended 16th Conference of Commonwealth Speakers and Presiding Officers, Botswana, January 2002.
  • Attended 3rd Meeting of the Preparatory Committee of the Conference of Presiding Officers of National Parliaments, Geneva, Switzerland and bilateral visits to Israel, Palestine and France, January-February 2000.
  • Attended official centenary commemoration of the passage of Australia's Constitution, UK, and Leader, Parliamentary Delegation to Ireland, July 2000.
  • Official visits to New Zealand, August 2000; China, Malaysia and Singapore, July-August 2002.
  • Leader, Parliamentary Delegation to the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Croatia, April 2001.
  • Attended 2nd Annual Meeting, Pacific Islands Speakers Forum, Marshall Islands, and official visits to the Federated States of Micronesia and Guam, April 2002.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to USA and Belgium, September 2002.
  • Official visit to New Zealand, June 2003.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Italy, UK and Singapore, June-July 2003.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Ukraine and Bulgaria, June-July 2004.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Deputy Opposition Whip from 9.9.85 to 12.5.89 and from 11.4.90 to 7.4.93.
  • Chief Government Whip from 11.7.97 to 18.10.98.
Party positions
  • Chair, Waikerie Branch 1971-74.
  • Chair, Chaffey SEC 1972-75.
  • Member, Liberal Party State Council (SA) from 1972.
  • Chair, Wakefield FEC 1980-82.
  • Member, State Rural Council Executive (SA).
  • Chair, Federal Coalition Primary Industry Committee.
  • Born 7.6.1944, Waikerie, SA.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Australian Nuffield Scholar in Agriculture 1975.
  • Horticulturist.
  • Member, SA Advisory Board of Agriculture from 1973; Chair 1980-82.
  • Member, Rotary Group Study Exchange Team, Utah, USA 1970.
  • Member, various horticultural commodity groups.
Local government service
  • Councillor, District Council of Waikerie 1976-83.
  • Member, various local government and community groups.
  • Description: rural.
  • Location: north and east of Adelaide, also incorporating Yorke Peninsula; it includes the towns of Angaston, Balaklava, Barmera, Berri, Gawler, Gumeracha, Kadina, Kapunda, Loxton, Minlaton, Moonta, Morgan, Mount Pleasant, Nurioopta, Renmark, Tanunda, Waikerie, Wallaroo, and Yorketown.
  • Area: 31 841 sq km (approx.).
  • Electors enrolled: 86 378 (at 10.11.01).
  • Industries: mixed cereals and sheep farming, viticulture in the Barossa Valley and Riverland, and irrigated orcharding in the Riverland.
  • State electorates: Wakefield includes the South Australian House of Assembly electorates of Chaffey, and parts of Goyder, Kavel, Light, Napier, Schubert, Stuart and Taylor.