Australian Parliament House will be closed to the public from 2 August to 3 September.

Hon Tony Abbott MP

Hon Tony Abbott MP

Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Warringah, New South Wales at by-election 1994, vice the Hon. M MacKellar (resigned). Re-elected 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. Defeated at general elections 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs from 11.3.1996 to 21.10.1998.
  • Minister for Employment Services from 21.10.1998 to 30.1.2001.
  • Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business from 30.1.2001 to 26.11.2001.
  • Cabinet Minister from 30.1.2001 to 3.12.2007.
  • Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations from 26.11.2001 to 7.10.2003.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service from 26.11.2001 to 7.10.2003.
  • Minister for Health and Ageing from 7.10.2003 to 3.12.2007.
  • Prime Minister from 18.9.2013 to 15.9.2015.
  • Cabinet Minister from 18.9.2013 to 15.9.2015.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Banking, Finance and Public Administration from 5.5.1994 to 29.1.1996; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs (Aboriginal Affairs before 4.5.1992) from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010; Family, Community, Housing and Youth from 11.3.2008 to 3.2.2010.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Leader of the House from 12.2.2002 to 17.10.2007.
  • Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party from 1.12.2009 to 14.9.2015.
  • Shadow Minister for Families, Community Services, Indigenous Affairs and the Voluntary Sector from 6.12.2007 to 22.9.2008.
  • Shadow Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs from 22.9.2008 to 1.12.2009.
  • Leader of the Opposition from 1.12.2009 to 18.9.2013.
  • Born 4.11.1957, London, England
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BEc (University of Sydney).
  • LLB (University of Sydney).
  • MA (University of Oxford).
  • Rhodes Scholar.
  • Journalist.
  • Plant Manager for Pioneer Concrete.
  • Press secretary and political adviser to the Leader of the Opposition, Dr J Hewson from 1990 to 1993.
  • Executive Director of Australians for Constitutional Monarchy from 1993 to 1994.
  • Name: Warringah
  • Location: Northern Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Allambie Heights, Balgowlah, Brookvale, Cremorne Point, Curl Curl, Fairlight, Forestville (part), Frenchs Forest (part), Killarney Heights, Manly, Manly Vale, Mosman, Neutral Bay, Queenscliff and Seaforth.
  • Area: 68 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 102,645 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: Manufacturing, construction, retail, professional, scientific and technical services, health care and social assistance, service and leisure industries.
  • Includes: Warringah includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Manly, and parts of North Shore, Wakehurst and Willoughby.
  • The minimal monarchy: and why it still makes sense for Australia, Wakefield Press, Kent Town, SA: 1995.
  • How to win the constitutional war and give both sides what they want, Australians for Constitutional Monarchy in association with Wakefield Press, 1997.
  • Battlelines, Melbourne University Press, 2009.
  • A strong Australia: the values, directions and policy priorities of the next Coalition Government, Bambra Press, Melbourne: 2012.