Mr Jason Wood MP


Member for La Trobe, Victoria

Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Migration
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Unit 3
16 Langmore Lane
Berwick, VIC, 3806

Postal address

PO Box 539
Berwick, VIC, 3806

(03) 9768 9164
(03) 9768 9883

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4982
(02) 6277 4994


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for La Trobe, Victoria, 2004 and 2007. Defeated at general elections 2010. Re-elected 2013 and 2016.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Environment and Heritage from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07; Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts from 11.3.08 to 10.11.08; Environment from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Crime Commission from 1.12.04 to 19.7.10; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Law Enforcement from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Intelligence and Security from 2.3.16 to 9.5.16 and from 15.9.16.
  • Joint Standing: Migration from 14.9.16 (Chair from 14.9.16); Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 14.9.16 to 15.8.17.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Justice and Public Security from 22.9.08 to 14.9.10.
Party positions
  • State Council Delegate, Liberal Party Dandenong Ranges Branch 2000-03.
  • Vice-President, Liberal Party Boronia/Dandenong Ranges Branch 2002-03.
  • Fund raising Convener and Policy Assembly Delegate, Liberal Party La Trobe Federal Electorate Council 2003.
  • Born 24.5.1968, Sutherland, NSW.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • MAppSc (Innovation Service Management) (RMIT), GradDip Innovation Service Management (RMIT).
  • Police officer, Victoria Police 1988-2004 including Detective, Organised Crime Squad 1990-2000; and Senior Sergeant, Counter Terrorism Coordination Unit 2003-04.
  • Description: outer metropolitan.
  • Location: eastern and south-eastern outskirts of Melbourne; it includes the suburbs of Beaconsfield, Belgrave, Berwick, Boronia (part), Cockatoo, Emerald (part), Ferntree Gully (part), Ferny Creek, Gembrook (part), Macclesfield, Mount Dandenong (part), Narre Warren (part), Narre Warren North (part), Narre Warren South (part), Officer, Olinda (part), Pakenham Upper (part), Sassafras, Tecoma and Upwey.
  • Area: 562 sq km (approx.).
  • Electors enrolled: 105 731 (at 2.7.16).
  • Industries: household products, car accessories and other light industries, horticulture, farming and tourism.
  • Queen's Scout Award.
  • Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award.
  • Awarded Centenary Medal 2003.