Mr Ewen Jones MP


Former Member

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Herbert, Queensland, 2010. Re-elected 2013. Defeated at general elections 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 4.3.14 to 28.9.15
Committee service
  • Joint Select: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.2013 to 11.11.2015.
  • House of Representatives Standing: House from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Appropriations and Administration from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Procedure from 25.10.2010 to 5.8.2013; Education and Employment from 4.12.2013 to 12.10.2015 (Chair from 11.2.2014 to 12.10.2015); Selection from 10.12.2015 to 9.5.2016.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Government Whip in the House of Representatives from 12.10.2015 to 9.5.2016.
Party positions
  • Chair, Townsville State Electoral Council 2010-11
  • Vice-Chair, Mundingburra State Electoral Council 2010-11
  • Born 7.3.1960, Quilpie, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Auctioneer 1990-2010
  • Finance company sales representative 1998-2001
  • Residential real estate sales consultant 2008-10
  • Description: Provincial
  • Location: north Queensland coast; it includes the city of Townsville and also includes Magnetic and Palm Islands.
  • Area: 946 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 97076 (at 7.9.2013)
  • Industries: copper, nickel and zinc refineries, bulk sugar terminal, and tropical fruits, prawn and fishing industry, beef cattle and tourism, James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and large defence establishments at Lavarack Barracks (Army) and Garbutt (RAAF).
  • Electorate: Herbert includes the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorate of Townsville, and parts of Burdekin, Hinchinbrook, Mundingburra and Thuringowa.