Hon Ed Husic MP

Member for Chifley, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

6/15 Cleeve Close
Mt Druitt, NSW, 2770

Postal address

PO Box 259
Mt Druitt, NSW, 2770

(02) 9625 4344
(02) 9832 2641

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4488
(02) 6277 8590

Connect with Hon Ed Husic MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Chifley, New South Wales

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Chifley, New South Wales, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Broadband from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Infrastructure and Communications from 25.10.10 to 5.8.13; Selection from 6.7.11 to 14.8.12 and from 10.9.12 to 14.5.13; Economics from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Standing: National Broadband Network from 22.3.11 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Select: Cyber-Safety from 25.10.10 to 24.6.13; Christmas Island Tragedy from 22.3.11 to 29.6.11; Australia's Clean Energy Future Legislation from 14.9.11 to 7.10.11; Australia Fund Establishment from 2.10.14 to 25.6.15.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Government Whip from 5.7.11 to 13.5.13.
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Treasurer from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16
  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition Assisting with Digital Innovation and Startups from 13.10.15 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Employment Services and Workforce Participation from 23.07.16 to 11.10.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Employment Services, Workforce Participation and Future of Work from 11.10.16.
  • Shadow Minister for the Digital Economy from 11.10.16.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP from 1989.
  • Secretary, ALP Blacktown Branch 1991-2004.
  • Secretary, ALP Greenway FEC 1995-98.
  • Chair, ALP Communications and Arts Policy Committee (NSW) 1998-99.
  • Secretary, ALP Caucus Economics, Productivity, Innovation and Industry Committee from 2010.
  • Born 3.2.1970, Sydney, NSW.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (Applied Communications)(UWS).
  • Assistant adviser, Parliamentary Secretary for Defence 1991-93.
  • Senior consultant, Burson-Marsteller 1993-94.
  • Assistant adviser, Minister for Communications, Arts and Tourism 1994-96.
  • Industrial officer and organiser, Postal and Telecommunications Branch, Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union (NSW) 1996-99; Divisional Vice-President 1998-99.
  • Media relations manager, Integral Energy 1999-2004.
  • Chief of Staff, Minister for Water Utilities, Regional Development, Small Business and the Illawarra (NSW) 2005-06.
  • National President and Divisional Secretary, Communications Division, Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union 2006-10.
    Description: outer metropolitan.

    Location: western outskirts of Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Arndell Park, Blacktown (part), Colebee, Dean Park, Doonside, Glendenning, Hassall Grove, Marayong, Marsden Park, Mount Druitt, Plumpton, Rooty Hill, Quakers Hill (part), Riverstone (part), Ropes Crossing, Shanes Park, Schofields (part), Tregear and Whalan.

    Area: 126 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 103 864 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: light manufacturing and service industries.