The Hon Janice Crosio MBE, MP

Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • State: elected to the New South Wales Legislative Assembly for Fairfield from 19.9.1981 to 22.2.1988 and for Smithfield from 27.4.1988. Resigned 17.2.1990.
  • Federal: elected to the House of Representatives for Prospect, New South Wales, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998 and 2001.
  • Retired prior to general elections 2004.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 7.5.96 to 8.10.01.
Ministerial appointments
  • State: Minister for Natural Resources from 5.4.84 to 6.2.86.
  • Minister for Local Government from 6.2.86 to 25.3.88.
  • Minister for Water Resources from 4.7.86 to 25.3.88.
  • Assistant Minister for Transport from 26.11.87 to 25.3.88.
  • Federal: Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Arts and Administrative Services from 24.3.93 to 23.12.93.
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Environment, Sport and Territories from 23.12.93 to 25.3.94.
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Social Security from 25.3.94 to 11.3.96.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Privileges from 16.5.90 to 8.2.93; Community Affairs from 16.5.90 to 8.2.93; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 3.3.92 to 8.2.93; Communications, Transport and Microeconomic Reform from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Environment, Recreation and the Arts from 30.5.96 to 17.11.97; Members' Interests from 8.12.98 to 31.8.04; Selection from 18.2.02 to 31.8.04; House from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Publications from 20.3.02 to 24.6.03.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 16.5.90 to 8.2.93 and from 17.11.97 to 1.1.98; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.1.98 to 31.8.98; Corporations and Securities from 3.3.92 to 8.2.93; Public Works from 8.12.98 to 11.2.02.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 8.12.98 to 16.2.00; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 9.12.99 to 11.2.02.
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Member, 86th IPU Conference, Santiago, Chile, October 1991.
  • Official visits to Venezuela, October 1991; Canada and USA, March 1994; China, October 1994.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to 13th General Assembly of AIPO, Jakarta, Indonesia, and bilateral visits to Thailand and Papua New Guinea, September-October 1992.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to USA and Venezuela, July 1997.
  • Study tour, China, April 1999; Fiji, May 2000; Thailand, Republic of Korea and Hong Kong, July 2002.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to the 102nd IPU Conference, Berlin, Germany and bilateral visit to Italy, October 1999; 103rd IPU Conference, Amman, Jordan and bilateral visit to Tanzania, April-May 2000; 104th IPU Conference, Jakarta, Indonesia, and bilateral visit to Vietnam, October 2000; 105th IPU Conference, Havana, Cuba, and bilateral visit to Mexico, March-April 2001.
Parliamentary party positions
  • State: Shadow Minister for Local Government 1988-89.
  • Federal: Chief Opposition Whip from 22.11.01 to 31.8.04.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP from 1967.
  • Delegate, ALP National Conference from 1990.
  • Born 3.1.1939, Sydney, NSW.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • Member, Legislative Assembly, New South Wales (see Parliamentary Service above).
  • First woman Cabinet Minister of NSW, and first woman to serve on the executive at all three levels of government - local, state and federal.
    Description: outer metropolitan.
    Location: western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Abbotsbury, Blacktown, Bossley Park, Canley Vale, Cecil Park, Eastern Creek, Edensor Park, Erskine Park, Fairfield, Fairfield Heights, Fairfield West, Greenfield Park, Greystanes, Horsley Park, Kemps Creek, Mount Vernon, Prairiewood, Prospect, St Clair, Smithfield, Wakeley, Wetherill Park and Woodpark.
    Area: 159 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 86 641 (at 10.11.01).
    Industries: building/construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and farming (poultry, fruit, vegetables and honey) .
    State electorates: Prospect includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Fairfield, Granville, Mt Druitt, Mulgoa, Smithfield and Wentworthville.
  • Awarded Queen Elizabeth Jubilee Medal 1977.
  • Appointed Member of the Order of the British Empire, January 1978.
  • Awarded Knight of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic 1980.