Hon Dr David Gillespie MP


Member for Lyne, New South Wales

Assistant Minister for Children and Families
The Nationals
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Shops 2 & 3
43 High Street
Wauchope, NSW, 2446

Postal address

PO Box 244
Wauchope, NSW, 2446

(02) 6586 4462
(02) 6586 0934

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4960
(02) 6277 2856


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Lyne, New South Wales, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Rural Health from 19.7.16 to 24.1.17.
  • Assistant Minister for Health from 24.1.17 to 20.12.17.
  • Assistant Minister for Children and Families from 20.12.17.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Health from 9.9.15 to 9.5.16; Privileges and Members' Interests from 24.2.16 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Statutory: Human Rights from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16.
  • Joint Standing: National Disability Insurance Scheme from 4.12.13 to 9.5.16; Public Accounts and Audit from 22.10.15 to 9.5.16.
  • Born 20.12.1957, Canberra, ACT.
  • Married.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • MBBS (Syd.), FRACP (RACP).
  • Gastroenterologist and consultant physician 1991-2013.
  • Director of Physician Training, Port Macquarie Base Hospital 1997-2010.
  • Cattle producer.
  • Small business manager and company director.
    Description: rural.
    Location: mid-north coast of New South Wales; it includes the centres of Bonny Hills, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Gresford, Harrington, Hawks Nest, Lake Cathie, Lansdowne, Laurieton, Nabiac, North Haven, Old Bar, Paterson, Smiths Lake, Stroud, Taree and Wauchope.
    Area: 16 099 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 111 790 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.
    State electorates: Lyne includes parts of the the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Myall Lakes, Oxley, Port Macquarie and Upper Hunter.