Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Hon Wayne Swan

Hon Wayne Swan

Former Member

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Lilley, Queensland, 1993. Defeated at general elections 1996. Elected to the House of Representatives for Lilley, Queensland, 1998. Re-elected 2001 and 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. Retired prior to general elections 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Treasurer from 3.12.2007 to 27.6.2013.
  • Cabinet Minister from 3.12.2007 to 27.6.2013.
  • Deputy Prime Minister from 24.6.2010 to 27.6.2013.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Transport, Communications and Infrastructure served from 12.5.1993 to 29.1.1996; Privileges and Members' Interests served from 10.10.2016 to 11.4.2019
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters served from 26.5.1993 to 29.1.1996
Parliamentary party positions
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Australian Labor Party from 24.6.2010 to 27.6.2013.
  • Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services from 20.10.1998 to 1.12.2000.
  • Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services from 17.2.2001 to 26.10.2004.
  • Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 12.2.2002 to 16.6.2003.
  • Shadow Treasurer from 26.10.2004 to 3.12.2007.
Party positions
  • Director of the Australian Labor Party Campaign Committee (Qld.) from 1988 to 1993.
  • Secretary of the Australian Labor Party State Branch (Qld.) from 1991 to 1993.
  • Born: 30.6.1954, Nambour, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Hons) (University of Queensland).
  • Party official.
  • Lecturer at the Queensland Institute of Technology from 1976 to 1977.
  • Policy analyst at the Office of Youth Affairs, 1978.
  • Adviser to the Leader of the Opposition, the Hon. W Hayden, MP from 1978 to 1980.
  • Lecturer at the Queensland Institute of Technology from 1981 to 1982.
  • Adviser to the Special Ministers of State, the Hon. M Young, MP and the Hon. K Beazley, MP, 1983.
  • Adviser to the Minister for Foreign Affairs, the Hon. W Hayden, MP, 1984.
  • Lecturer at the Queensland Institute of Technology from 1985 to 1988.
  • Adviser from 1996 to 1998.
  • Name: Lilley
  • Location: north-eastern Brisbane; it includes the suburbs of Banyo, Boondall, Brighton, Chermside, Chermside West, Deagon, Eagle Farm, Geebung, Kedron, McDowall, Northgate, Nudgee, Nudgee Beach, Nundah, Pinkenba, Sandgate, Shorncliffe, Stafford Heights, Taigum, Virginia, Wavell Heights, Zillmere and parts of Aspley, Bridgeman Downs, Eagle Farm, Everton Park and Stafford.
  • Area: 147 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 106,969 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: domestic and international airports, light and heavy engineering, sea-cargo facilities, chemical production, warehousing (civilian and military), various small industries, oil refining and storage.
  • Includes:
  • Postcode: the splintering of a nation, Pluto Press, North Melbourne, Vic., 2005.
  • The Good Fight: six years, two prime ministers and staring down the Great Recession, Allen & Unwin, Crows Nest: 2014.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.