Bookings to Parliament House are essential to comply with COVID-19 access requirements. All visitors will need to use the Check In CBR app.

Senator Andrew McLachlan CSC

Senator Andrew McLachlan CSC

Senator for South Australia

Liberal Party of Australia

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

36 Grenfell Street
Kent Town, SA, 5067

(08) 8362 8600
(08) 8362 8579
Local Call*:
1300 880 569

*Calls will be charged at a local rate. Charges may vary for mobile phones

Parliament Office

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 3337


Browse all speeches (Hansard)


Parliamentary service
  • State: Member of the Legislative Council (SA) from 2014 to 2020.
  • Federal: Chosen by the Parliament of South Australia on 6.2.2020 under section 15 of the Constitution to represent that State in the Senate, vice C Bernardi (resigned).
Committee service
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Community Affairs: Legislation from 11.2.2020.
  • Joint Statutory: Human Rights from 11.2.2020.
  • Born 14.1.1966, Adelaide, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • (LLB) (University of Adelaide).
  • (LLM) (University of Edinburgh).
  • (MBA) (Australian Graduate School of Management).
  • Solicitor in Legal Practice from 1989 to 1991.
  • Senior Associate in Legal Practice from 1993 to 1996.
  • Senior Executive in Financial Services from 1996 to 2011.
  • Non-Executive Director in Financial Services from 2011 to 2014.
  • Director of the International Centre for Financial Services, University of Adelaide, from 2012 to 2014.
State/Territory Government service
  • Member of the Legislative Council (SA) from 2014 to 2020.
  • President of the Legislative Council (SA) from 2018 to 2020.
Military Service
  • Australian Army Reserve from 1993 to 2018.