Mr Julian Simmonds

Mr Julian Simmonds

Former Member

Liberal National Party of Queensland
House of Representatives


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Ryan, Queensland, 2019. Defeated at general elections 2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Mental Health and Suicide Prevention served from 15.2.2021 to 24.11.2021; Social Media and Online Safety served from 6.12.2021 to 15.3.2022
  • House of Representatives Standing: Procedure served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Petitions served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Social Policy and Legal Affairs served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Economics served from 27.8.2020 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Standing: National Broadband Network served from 23.7.2019 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Statutory: Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Law Enforcement served from 23.2.2021 to 16.3.2021; Law Enforcement served as Chair from 17.3.2021 to 11.4.2022
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 18.05.2019 to 21.05.2022
Party positions
  • Chairman of the Liberal National Party Ryan Federal Divisional Council (Qld).
  • Born: 29.8.1985, Brisbane, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (University of Queensland).
  • MJourn (University of Queensland).
  • Grad (AICD) (Australian Institute of Company Directors).
Local Government service
  • Councillor for Walter Taylor Ward, Brisbane City Council from 2010 to 2019.
  • Chairman of the Public and Active Transport and Economic and Tourism Development Committee, Brisbane City Council from 2011 to 2012.
  • Chairman of the Finance and Administration Committee, Brisbane City Council from 2012 to 2016.
  • Chairman of the Planning and Development Committee, Brisbane City Council from 2016 to 2018.
  • Name: Ryan
  • Location: The Division of Ryan consists of: part of the Brisbane City Council, and part of the Moreton Bay Regional Council.
  • Area: 370 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 106,249 (at 7.6.2019)
  • Industries: The area is mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities. The University of Queensland is located on the Brisbane River at St Lucia, while all of Brisbane's television transmitters are on Mount Coot-tha. By way of contrast, some farming still occurs in the outlying suburbs and the division also includes a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.
  • Yes, Lord Mayor: inside the politics of Brisbane City Hall, Connor Court Publishing, Redland Bay, Qld: 2021.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.