Hon Kristy McBain MP

Hon Kristy McBain MP

Member for Eden-Monaro

Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

1/21-25 Monaro Street
Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

Postal address

PO Box 214
Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

(02) 6284 2442

Electorate Office 2

1/225 Carp Street
Bega, NSW, 2550

Postal address

PO Box 1233
Bega, NSW, 2550

(02) 6492 0542

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7060


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Eden-Monaro, New South Wales at by-election 2020, vice the Hon. Dr M Kelly AM (resigned). Re-elected 2022.
Ministerial appointments
  • Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government from 1.6.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Australia served from 2.9.2020 to 15.3.2022
Parliamentary party positions
  • Australian Labor Party. Served: 04.07.2020 to present
  • Born: 29.9.1982, Traralgon, Australia
  • Gender: Female
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • (BComms(Journ)) (University of Canberra).
  • (LLB) (University of Canberra).
  • Pharmacy Assistant from 1995 to 2003.
  • Waitress from 2000 to 2004.
  • Library Assistant from 2002 to 2005.
  • Paralegal from 2004 to 2005.
  • Lawyer from 2005 to 2018.
  • Small Business Owner from 2012 to 2020.
Local Government service
  • Councillor for Bega Valley Shire from September 2012 to May 2020.
  • Member of the Country Mayors Association Executive Committee from 2016 to 2018.
  • Mayor of Bega Valley Shire from September 2016 to May 2020.
  • Deputy Chair of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation from 2018 to 2020.
  • Name: Eden-Monaro
  • Location: Eden-Monaro covers an area from Yass, Murrumbateman and Bungendore in the north and south to the Victorian border, excluding the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Adelong, Batlow, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Cabramurra, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Murrumbateman, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Talbingo, Tathra, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Yass.
  • Area: 41,617 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 114,147 (at 11.6.2019)
  • Industries: Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains Hydroelectric Scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.
  • Received the Women in Local Government Award (Elected Official Regional/Rural), 2017.
  • Received the Rotary Club of Merimbula Australia Day Award for Outstanding Service to the Community, 2020.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.