Australian Parliament House is open to the public.

Mr Phillip Thompson OAM, MP

Mr Phillip Thompson OAM, MP

Member for Herbert

Liberal National Party of Queensland
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

G06 Nathan Business Centre
340 Ross River Road
Cranbrook, QLD, 4814

Postal address

PO Box 226
Aitkenvale BC, QLD, 4814

(07) 4725 2066

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4418
(02) 6277 8471


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Herbert, Queensland, 2019.
Committee service
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 23.7.2019; Northern Australia from 23.7.2019.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture and Water Resources from 4.7.2019; Indigenous Affairs from 4.7.2019.
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Australia from 17.9.2019 to 15.3.2022.
  • Born 7.5.1988, Armidale, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BAppBus (Mgmt) (University of Canberra).
  • Infantry Soldier in the Department of Defence from 2006 to 2011.
  • Director of the Royal Australian Regiment Corp from 2016 to 2019.
  • Company Secretary of JobTrain from 2017 to 2018.
  • Special Projects Manager at Selectability from 2017 to 2018.
  • Director of the Australian Pain Management Association from 2017 to 2018.
  • Director of Swiss 8 from 2018 to 2019.
Military Service
  • Infantry Soldier, 1RAR from 2006 to 2011.
  • Name: Herbert
  • Location: The Division of Herbert consists of: Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council, part of Hinchinbrook Shire Council, and part of the Townsville City Council.
  • Area: 941 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 108,453 (at 10.6.2019)
  • Industries: Copper, nickel and zinc refineries, bulk sugar terminal, and tropical fruits, prawn and fishing industry, beef cattle and tourism. Townsville, noted for its port facilities, is also home to James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and large defence establishments at Lavarack Barracks (Army) and Garbutt (RAAF).
  • Dutch Commander's Commendation.
  • ANZAC of the Year, 2016.
  • Great Australian, 2017.
  • Awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia, 2018.
  • Young Australian of the Year (Queensland), 2018.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.