Bookings to Parliament House are essential to comply with COVID-19 access requirements. All visitors will need to use the Check In CBR app.

Senator Wendy Askew

Senator Wendy Askew

Senator for Tasmania

Chair of Community Affairs Legislation Committee
Deputy Chair of Community Affairs References Committee
Liberal Party of Australia

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

46 Cameron Street
Launceston, TAS, 7250

Postal address

PO Box 97
Launceston, TAS, 7250

(03) 6331 8501
Local Call*:
1300 134 468

*Calls will be charged at a local rate. Charges may vary for mobile phones

Parliament Office

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 3204


Parliamentary service
  • Appointed by the Governor of Tasmania on 6.3.2019 under section 15 of the Constitution to represent that State in the Senate, vice D Bushby (resigned).
Parliamentary positions
  • Temporary Chair of Committees from 2.7.2019.
Committee service
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Community Affairs: Legislation from 3.4.2019 (Chair from 3.7.2019); Community Affairs: References from 3.4.2019 (Deputy Chair from 3.7.2019); Education and Employment: Legislation from 3.4.2019 to 1.7.2019.
  • Joint Standing: National Disability Insurance Scheme from 3.4.2019; Electoral Matters from 22.7.2019; Parliamentary Library from 22.7.2019.
Party positions
  • Member of the Liberal Party (Tas.) from 2002.
  • Delegate to the Liberal Party State Council (Tas.) from 2004. .
  • Member of the Liberal Party State Executive (Tas.) from 2005 to 2008.
  • Treasurer of the Liberal Party (Tas.) from 2005 to 2006.
  • Senior Vice-President of the Liberal Party (Tas.) from 2006 to 2007.
  • Delegate (Tas.) to the Liberal Party Federal Council from 2006 to 2008.
  • Member of the Liberal Party State Executive (Tas.) from 2013 to 2016.
  • Delegate (Tas.) to the Liberal Party Federal Council from 2014 to 2016.
  • Senior Vice-President of the Liberal Party (Tas.), 2016.
  • Born 16.3.1963, Launceston, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • DipBusMgmt (TAFE Tasmania).
  • DipBusMgmt (HR) (TAFE Tasmania).
  • Graduate (Australian Institute of Company Directors).
  • Bank Officer and Manager from 1980 to 2002.
  • Electorate Officer to Senator G Barnett from 2002 to 2003.
  • Electorate Officer to M Ferguson, MP from 2004 to 2007.
  • Office Manager to the Leader of the Opposition, the Hon. W Hodgman MP (Tas.) from 2008 to 2009.
  • General Manager in the disability sector from 2009 to 2010.
  • Bank Manager from 2010 to 2013.
  • Electorate Officer to A Nikolic AM CSC, MP from 2013 to 2016.
  • Adviser to S Courtney, MP (Tas.), 2016.
  • Adviser to the Hon. D Tehan, MP from 2016 to 2019.