Mr Pat Conaghan MP

Mr Pat Conaghan MP

Member for Cowper

Deputy Chair of Standing Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs
The Nationals
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

Level 4, 41-47 Horton Street
Port Macquarie, NSW, 2444

Postal address

PO Box 345, Palm Court Centre
Port Macquarie, NSW, 2444

(02) 6583 8387

Electorate Office 2

Suite 3, 129 West High Street
Coffs Harbour, NSW, 2450

(02) 5507 9555

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4446


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Cowper, New South Wales, 2019. Re-elected 2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources served from 4.7.2019 to 24.8.2021; Industry, Innovation, Science and Resources served as Chair from 25.8.2021 to 11.4.2022; Social Policy and Legal Affairs served from 2.8.2022 to 9.8.2022; Social Policy and Legal Affairs served as Deputy Chair from 10.8.2022 to present
  • Joint Select: Road Safety served from 24.10.2019 to 25.2.2020; Road Safety served as Chair from 26.2.2020 to 9.11.2020; Road Safety served from 13.5.2021 to 25.5.2021; Road Safety served as Chair from 26.5.2021 to 26.8.2021; Road Safety served from 11.3.2022 to 25.3.2022; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice Referendum served from 30.3.2023 to 12.5.2023
  • Joint Standing: Electoral Matters served from 7.12.2020 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Statutory: Law Enforcement served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022; Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity served from 4.7.2019 to 11.4.2022
Parliamentary party positions
  • The Nationals. Served: 18.05.2019 to present
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for Social Services from 5.6.2022.
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence from 5.6.2022.
Party positions
  • Secretary of the Coalition Policy Committee on Infrastructure, Regional Development and Population from 4.7.2019.
  • Member of the Coalition Policy Committee on Health and Aged Care from 4.7.2019.
  • Member of the Nationals Policy and Initiative Committee from 4.7.2019.
  • Born: 31.1.1971, Kempsey, Australia
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB (University of New England).
  • DipLegPrac (College of Law, NSW).
  • Constable in the Police Force (NSW) from 1990 to 1993.
  • Crime Squad Police Detective (NSW) from 1993 to 1997.
  • Police Force Prosecutor (NSW) from 1997 to 2001.
  • Solicitor from 2001 to 2019.
Local Government service
  • Councillor, North Sydney Local Council from 2003 to 2007.
  • Name: Cowper
  • Location: Cowper covers an area from Port Macquarie in the south to Coffs Harbour in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Crescent Head, Dorrigo, Gladstone, Hat Head, Kempsey, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Port Macquarie, Ulong and Urunga.
  • Area: 7,296 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 124,340 (at 7.6.2019)
  • Industries: Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.