Mr David Smith MP


Member for Bean, Australian Capital Territory

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

205 Anketell Street
Tuggeranong, ACT, 2900

Postal address

205 Anketell Street
Tuggeranong, ACT, 2900

(02) 6293 1344

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4346
(02) 6277 8430


Browse all speeches (Hansard)


Parliamentary service
  • Declared elected 23.5.2018 as a Senator for the Australian Capital Territory by the High Court of Australia, vice K Gallagher (disqualified under section 44(i) of the Constitution). Resigned 11.4.2019. Elected to the House of Representatives for Bean, Australian Capital Territory, 2019.
Committee service
  • Senate Select: Charity Fundraising in the 21st Century from 25.6.2018 to 14.2.2019; Electric Vehicles from 27.6.2018 to 30.1.2019.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works from 23.7.2019.
  • Joint Standing: National Capital and External Territories from 28.6.2018.
Party positions
  • Senior Vice-President of the Australian Labor Party Territory Branch (ACT), 2016
  • Born 25.3.1970, Canberra, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Hons) (Australian National University)
  • Senior Policy Officer, ACT Chief Minister's Directorate
  • Manager, Industrial Relations, Australian Federal Police Association
  • Director ACT, Professionals Australia