Mr Josh Wilson MP

Mr Josh Wilson MP

Member for Fremantle

Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Treaties
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

Office 12, Level 1
135 High Street Mall
Fremantle, WA, 6160

Postal address

PO Box 1224
Fremantle, WA, 6160

(08) 9335 8555

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 2081


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Fremantle, Western Australia, 2016. Resigned 10.5.2018. Elected to the House of Representatives for Fremantle, Western Australia at by-election 2018, vice J Wilson (resigned). Re-elected 2019 and 2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Australia served from 29.7.2019 to 15.3.2022
  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics served from 7.12.2017 to 10.5.2018; Economics served from 10.9.2018 to 11.4.2019; Environment and Energy served from 22.7.2019 to 23.7.2019; Environment and Energy served as Deputy Chair from 24.7.2019 to 11.4.2022
  • Joint Standing: Treaties served from 1.9.2016 to 10.5.2018; National Broadband Network served from 10.10.2016 to 12.10.2016; National Broadband Network served as Deputy Chair from 13.10.2016 to 10.5.2018; Treaties served from 10.9.2018 to 11.4.2022; National Broadband Network served from 10.9.2018 to 11.9.2018; National Broadband Network served as Deputy Chair from 12.9.2018 to 1.7.2019; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 28.7.2022 to present; Migration served from 28.7.2022 to present; Treaties served as Chair from 4.8.2022 to present
  • Joint Statutory: Intelligence and Security served from 5.9.2022 to present; Public Accounts and Audit served from 28.11.2023 to present
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Delegate in the 45th Parliament to the Inter-Parliamentary Union: co-rapporteur in the Committee on Finance, Trade and Sustainable Development; member of the Committee to Promote Respect for International Humanitarian Law.
  • Member of the Parliamentary Delegation to India from 3.11.2019 to 7.11.2019.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Australian Labor Party. Served: 02.07.2016 to 10.05.2018, 28.07.2018 to present
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for the Environment from 2.6.2019 to 23.5.2022.
  • Born: 5.6.1972, London, England
  • Gender: Male
  • Marital Status: Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Hons) (University of Western Australia).
  • MA(Hons) (University of Melbourne).
  • Freelance writer and photographer from 1995 to 2009.
  • Paralegal at Phillips Fox from 1996 to 1998.
  • Paralegal at Blake Dawson Waldron from 1998 to 2004.
  • Associate Lecturer at Curtin University from 2001 to 2009.
  • Media Adviser to the Hon. C Lawrence, MP from 2004 to 2007.
  • Chief of Staff to the Hon. M Parke, MP from 2007 to 2016.
Local Government service
  • Councillor, City of Fremantle from 2009 to 2016.
  • Deputy Mayor, City of Fremantle from 2011 to 2016.
  • Name: Fremantle
  • Location: Fremantle covers the Cities of Cockburn, Fremantle and Melville (part) and the town of East Fremantle. It is situated south west of Perth and includes Rottnest Island. The suburbs include Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Coolbellup, Coogee, Cockburn Central, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hammond Park, Henderson, Hilton, Jandakot, Kardinya (part), Leeming (part), Munster, North Coogee, North Fremantle, North Lake, O'Connor, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley and Yangebup.
  • Area: 196 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 105,465 (at 6.6.2019)
  • Industries: Industries include retail, commercial, manufacturing, medical, education, professional services, hospitality, tourism and fishing.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.