Ms Meryl Swanson MP


Member for Paterson, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

35 Sturgeon Street
Raymond Terrace, NSW, 2324

Postal address

PO Box 156
Raymond Terrace, NSW, 2324

(02) 4983 2401

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4248
(02) 6277 8487


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Paterson, New South Wales, 2016. Re-elected 2019.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Agriculture and Water Resources from 15.9.2016 to 15.6.2017; Agriculture and Water Resources from 21.5.2018 (Deputy Chair from 21.5.2018).
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation from 13.6.2017.
  • Born 3.9.1970, Kurri Kurri, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BCom (University of Newcastle)
  • BA (University of Newcastle)
  • Researcher/ Producer/ Reporter, NBN Television, 1991-93
  • Radio Presenter, 2KO, 1992
  • Business Manager, Hunter Region Organisation of Councils, 1993-96
  • Electorate Officer, Office of Joel Fitzgibbon MP, 1996-97
  • Executive Director, Hunter Tourism, 1997
  • Student and mother, 1998-2001
  • Small business owner and cafe operator, 2001-04
  • Radio Broadcaster, 2004-16
Local government service
  • Member, Hunter Region Organisation of Councils from 1993 to 1996.
  • Location: mid-north coast of New South Wales; main towns include Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Medowie, Neath, Nelson Bay, Raymond Terrace and Williamtown.
  • Area: 1,123 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 112,541 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: beef and dairy cattle, mixed farming, maize, fishing and oyster farming, general engineering, transport, construction, tourism and recreational industries.
  • Electorate: Paterson includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Maitland, Myall Lakes, Port Stephens and Upper Hunter.