Bookings to Parliament House are essential to comply with COVID-19 access requirements. All visitors will need to use the Check In CBR app.

Senator Jess Walsh

Senator Jess Walsh

Senator for Victoria

Australian Labor Party

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

240-250 Lygon Street
Brunswick East, VIC, 3057

Postal address

PO Box 233
Brunswick East, VIC, 3057

(03) 9381 5448

Parliament Office

PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 3744


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the Senate for Victoria 2019.
Parliamentary positions
  • Temporary Chair of Committees from 4.2.2020.
Committee service
  • Senate Standing: Publications from 2.7.2019.
  • Senate Select: Financial Technology and Regulatory Technology from 19.9.2019; Temporary Migration from 5.12.2019; Job Security from 10.12.2020.
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Economics: References from 2.7.2019; Economics: Legislation from 16.3.2021.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 4.7.2019.
  • Joint Standing: Migration from 22.7.2019 to 23.7.2019; National Broadband Network from 22.7.2019.
Party positions
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party from 2005.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (Victorian Branch) from 2006 to 2018.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2015.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference, 2018.
  • Born 16.5.1971, Melbourne, Australia
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Hons) (University of Melbourne).
  • MA (University of Southern California).
  • PhD (University of Melbourne).
  • Research Fellow at the Institute for Policy Studies, John Hopkins University (USA) from 1998 to 1999.
  • Research Fellow at the Economic Policy Institute, Washington DC (USA) from 1999 to 2000.
  • Researcher and Organiser for United Voice (Vic.) from 2002 to 2006.
  • Assistant Secretary of United Voice (Vic.) from 2006 to 2007.
  • Secretary of United Voice (Vic.) from 2007 to 2019.