Hon Melissa Price MP

Hon Melissa Price MP

Member for Durack

Opposition Whip
Deputy Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

2B/209 Foreshore Drive
Geraldton, WA, 6530

Postal address

2B/209 Foreshore Drive
Geraldton, WA, 6530

(08) 9964 2195
(08) 9921 7990

Electorate Office 2

4/34 Frederick Street
Broome, WA, 6725

Postal address

PO Box 1856
Broome, WA, 6725

(08) 9192 7216
(08) 9192 8860

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4315


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Durack, Western Australia, 2013. Re-elected 2016, 2019 and 2022.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 12.10.2015 to 9.5.2016.
  • Member of the Speaker's Panel from 8.8.2017 to 20.12.2017.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for the Environment from 20.12.2017 to 28.8.2018.
  • Minister for the Environment from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.
  • Cabinet Minister from 28.8.2018 to 29.5.2019.
  • Minister for Defence Industry from 29.5.2019 to 23.5.2022.
  • Cabinet Minister from 30.3.2021 to 23.5.2022.
  • Minister for Science and Technology from 8.10.2021 to 23.5.2022.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Development and Decentralisation served from 13.6.2017 to 20.12.2017
  • House of Representatives Standing: Indigenous Affairs served from 4.12.2013 to 11.11.2015; Agriculture and Industry served from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Infrastructure and Communications served from 4.12.2013 to 9.9.2015; Social Policy and Legal Affairs served from 25.9.2014 to 22.2.2016; Communications and the Arts served from 11.11.2015 to 9.5.2016; Indigenous Affairs served as Chair from 14.9.2016 to 20.12.2017; Selection served from 1.8.2022 to present
  • Joint Select: Northern Australia served from 9.12.2013 to 9.5.2016
  • Joint Standing: Treaties served from 22.2.2016 to 9.5.2016; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 14.9.2016 to 20.12.2017; Northern Australia served from 14.9.2016 to 20.12.2017; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs served from 1.8.2022 to 7.9.2022; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade served from 1.8.2022 to present; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs served as Deputy Chair from 7.9.2022 to present
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works served from 14.9.2016 to 15.9.2016
Parliamentary party positions
  • Liberal Party of Australia. Served: 07.09.2013 to present
  • Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives from 26.7.2022.
  • Born: 12.12.1963, Kalgoorlie, Australia
  • Gender: Female
  • Marital Status: Partner
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB(Hons) (London South Bank University).
  • GradDipLaw (University of Western Australia).
  • Non-Executive Director of the Cancer Council (WA) to 2016.
  • Non-Executive Director of the BrightSpark Foundation to 2016.
  • Solicitor in private practice from 1997 to 2002.
  • General Counsel and Business Development Manager at CBH Group from 2002 to 2008.
  • Vice-President of Legal and Business Development for Crosslands Resources Ltd. from 2008 to 2012.
  • Name: Durack
  • Location: Durack encompasses close to 55% of Western Australia, stretching from Kununurra in the north, down to York in the south, including various coastal islands. Durack is the biggest single member, compulsory voting electorate in the world and the largest electorate in Australia. The division consists of the Shires of Ashburton, Broome, Carnarvon, Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Chittering, Coorow, Cue, Dalwallinu, Dandaragan, Derby-West Kimberley, Dowerin, East Pilbara, Exmouth, Gingin, Goomalling, City of Greater Geraldton, Halls Creek, Irwin, City of Karratha, Meekatharra, Mingenew, Moora, Morawa, Mount Magnet, Murchison, Northam, Northampton, Perenjori, Town of Port Hedland, Sandstone, Shark Bay, City of Swan (Bullsbrook), Three Springs, Toodyay, Upper Gascoyne, Victoria Plains, Wongan Ballidu, Wyndham East Kimberley, Yalgoo and York.
  • Area: 1,383,954 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 119,585 (at 22.6.2023)
  • Industries: Industries include fishing, agriculture, mining and tourism.

We acknowledge the traditional owners and custodians of country throughout Australia and acknowledge their continuing connection to land, waters and community. We pay our respects to the people, the cultures and the elders past, present and emerging.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.