Ms Sharon Claydon MP


Member for Newcastle, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

427 Hunter Street
Newcastle, NSW, 2300

Postal address

427 Hunter Street
Newcastle, NSW, 2300

(02) 4926 1555
(02) 4926 1895

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4285
(02) 6277 2378


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Newcastle, New South Wales, 2013. Re-elected 2016.
Parliamentary positions
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 25.3.15 to 9.5.16
  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 11.10.16
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Public Works from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016.
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 15.9.2016.
  • Joint Select: Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse from 7.12.2017 (Deputy Chair from 15.2.2018).
  • House of Representatives Standing: Appropriations and Administration from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Publications from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016; Indigenous Affairs from 19.10.2015 to 9.5.2016; Indigenous Affairs from 15.9.2016; Social Policy and Legal Affairs from 15.9.2016.
Party positions
  • Chair, ALP Status of Women Caucus Committee
  • Chair, ALP Medicare Caucus Committee
  • Member, ALP National Policy Forum
  • Member, ALP Social Policy Caucus Committee
  • Member, ALP International and Legal Affairs Caucus Committee
  • Member, ALP Newcastle Branch from 1999
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference (NSW) from 2002
  • Member, ALP Reconciliation and Indigenous Affairs Committee (NSW) 2002-07
  • Delegate, ALP National Conference from 2007
  • Member, ALP Administrative Committee (NSW) 2007-13
  • Born 26.4.1964, Camperdown, Australia
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • B.A (Hons)(Syd.)
  • Disability support worker
  • Social anthropologist
  • Electorate officer
  • Description: Provincial
  • Location: covers an area from the Hunter River and the Rail Trail in the north, Minmi in the west, Main Road in the south and the coast from Merrewether to Stockton in the east. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Broadmeadow, Cardiff Heights, Carrington, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Jesmond, Kooragang, Kotara, Lambton, Maryland, Merewether, Minmi, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, Waratah and Wallsend.
  • Area: 171 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 113334 (at 2.7.2016)
  • Industries: ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering.
  • Electorate: Newcastle includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Newcastle, and parts of Charlestown, Maitland, Port Stephens and Wallsend.